Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship. Suzann Still In Control

Suzann Pettersen is still in control of the Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship at the close of play on day 3 at the Sunrise Golf and Country Club in Taiwan.

Suzann had a tough time during the third round, carding a +1 over par 73, but she still leads the Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship at -6 under par. Her rivals could not cash in on her poor round today, so she takes a four shot lead into the final round.

You know, I had a great warm-up, felt good, on the second, I kind of made a little amateur mistake trying to get too cute on the tee ball and left myself with a very tough up‑and‑down. I just couldn’t get it going and made a few errors. Today was a tough day for me.  It was all about hanging in there and trying to bring it back to where I started.”

” “I could easily have lost it out there today. It was, you know, some days are easy, some days are not that easy, some of the times you see everything you’re going to do right in front of you.  Other times you fall in‑between clubs and are not quite sure and then you start questioning if it’s enough, if you had enough, if it’s going to be too spinning. It’s one of those days where you can be very analytic, and it’s all in the conditions to be analytic. One more day in these conditions.” 

The only player to make up ground was Azahara Munoz, who managed a third round of -3 under par 69, which left her in a tie for second place at -2 under par.

Azahara felt that it had been a long year;

“It’s been a long year, I didn’t see my coach for a very long time because I moved to the States.  I was trying to make swing changes to my own and it was just a little mess, so now I’m finally back to normal. I think I don’t mind playing in the wind I would say, and maybe everybody else does.  So, I don’t know, I just tried to play my game. My ball doesn’t move much in the wind. That’s one of my strengths and I can kind of go right at it kind of.” 

Sharing that score with Azahara are Sung Young Yoo and Carlota Ciganda, both ladies with even par third rounds of 72.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.