L.E.T. 2014 Tour Qualifiers. Caroline Martens wins Lalla Aicha Tour School.

Caroline Martens won the Lalla Aicha Tour School event by 8 shots at Samanah Golf Club and Al Maaden Golf Resort
Marrakesh, Morocco, earning her a place on Tour for 2014.

Caroline Martens / Getty

Caroline, from Norway, carded eight birdies at Samanah Golf Club in Marrakesh on a warm and breezy day to finish the tournament a clear eight strokes ahead of the field on -13 under-par. On the bag for was Mum, Ingrid, who was a great support;

” I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for my mom. She is fantastic. She is the best caddie, the best role model, the best motivator, the best mom. She is absolutely amazing and I am so lucky to have her. It feels fantastic, I played ridiculously well and didn’t make any mistakes out there. I was striking the ball perfect, I was putting well. It was a fantastic round of golf, the best I’ve ever played.”

“The one word I kept on thinking on every shot, every day, was patience. Like, it’s a marathon of a week, I have to be patient, it’s not over until it’s over. Even on the last putt on eighteen, I just kept saying to myself, I need to be patient, I need to be patient, just breathe, take one shot at a time, don’t get ahead of yourself and enjoy the moment really. It’s been such a difficult year and I’ve worked so hard. Having this week going the way it did, it makes me feel like all the hard work I’ve put into it really paid off. I’m really looking forward to next year, getting started and improving on what I did here.”

Sally Watson of Scotland and Germany’s Steffi Kirchmayr  shared second place at -5 under-par.

Sally said she feels so excited to have qualified for the Tour;

“I’m so excited. It’s been a long year and I just graduated from Stanford University in June. I did not have a good spring at all which is not what you want as you turn professional. It’s been a lot of work since then to get my game in shape to really be able to compete for this. I feel like I got better every round and it was nice to play well on the front nine. In a sense, the pressure wasn’t off on the back nine but it was a lot easier to relax having been three-under on the front nine.”

Steffi 

“It feels awesome, because it’s a tough week and just stressful, so it’s nice to be done. My long game was really good, I just didn’t make many putts. I hit 16 of 18 greens and only made two birdies but my long game was solid, so that made it easy.”

Others included in  the list of 31 are;

Swedish pair Josephine Janson and Viva Schlasberg, Nobuhle Dlamini, who qualified to become the LET’s first representative from Swaziland. Frenchwoman Lucie Andre, who had a  hole-in-one,  Ariane Provot and Isabelle Boineau of France, South African Kim Williams, Tessa Teachman of the USA, Krista Bakker of Finland, Austrian Nina Muehl, Germany’s Karolin Lampert, England’s Charlotte Thompson and Victoria Lovelady of Brazil.

 

.

Leave a Reply

