Hyundai Tournament of Champions, Zach Zooms To The Top.


dragon logo dark

Zach Johnson zooms to the top of the leaderboard at the conclusion of the second round in the Hyundai Tournament of Champions at the Plantation Course Kapalua in Hawaii.

The Johnson’s, Dustin and Zach / Getty Images

 Zach Johnson needed to avoid the dreaded three-putt and score better on the par fives, he did neither during the second round on Saturday at Kapalua, but still managed to build a three-shot lead. His tournament total now -13 under par following his -7  under par 66.

His namesake Dustin Johnson, the defending Champion here, is one of three players tied in second place at -10 under par. Dustin also shot a -7 under par 66 second round, with birdies on all the par fives, which were tempered by two bogey’s on the back nine. He likes this course;

“This golf course sets up well for me, I can reach all the par 5s, and there’s a few short holes where you can drive it up close to the green. So if I chip and it and putt it well, I’m going to shoot a good score pretty much every time.”

Zach responded to that quote;

“I would say I’m up by three gross, and by eight or nine net, based on that rationale.”

And then just for good measure he mentioned coming from behind to beat Tiger Woods, last time out;

“When you’re talking about a guy that’s done what he’s done and raised the bar, any time you beat him, especially if you’re playing with him and come back from four shots with eight holes to go, it’s going to happen. So I can deal with that. I’ve played with him a number of times, too. I like watching him hit driver. He’s not a whole lot different than a lot of the other guys I play with because they all hit it a lot further than me it seems like, I don’t know. Dustin does not intimidate me.”

 Matt Kuchar and Jordan Spieth are tied for second place as the winners-only tournament started to show some separation between the leading players and the rest of the field.

Matt Kuchar likes it here in Hawaii so much that the whole family are staying on for a vacation after the two Opening tournaments.

“We love it here, we went for a week last year and we had such a good time. I took a look at my schedule, I needed kind of a mini-break; I have played a lot in October, November, December, so I was looking for a mini-break and just said, ‘Well, we’re over in Hawaii, let’s just stay there and enjoy ourselves. It’s the halfway point and I’ve posted two nice scores. Looks like I’m not too far off the lead, so that’s a good thing, but there’s a lot of guys still in this.”

Leave a Reply

