www.whitedragongolf.com The Future of Putting

dragon logo dark Kevin Stadler soared to his 1st professional win on the PGA Tour at the Waste Management Phoenix Open at TPC Scottsdale, as Bubba Watson makes a huge blunder.

Chance not wasted

Kevin Stadler / Getty Images

 Kevin got his first career win on Sunday at the Waste Management Phoenix Open, at TPC Scottsdale, joining his father Craig as a winner on the PGA TOUR. Kevin shot a final round -3 under par 68 for his winning total of -16 under par.

Kevin and Craig are the ninth father-son combination to win on TOUR, and the thought had crossed Kevin’s mind.  He now has an invitation to the Masters, where he will get to play alongside Craig, who won the tournament in 1982.;

“That was in the forefront of my mind when I was out there.”

Craig added;

 “He’s obviously getting on in his career.”

Kevin joked that it was nearly too late, and it was a tough haul to get there;

“He probably would have liked it better if I had gotten there five years ago so he could call it quits then. He’s been telling me for a couple of years I need to hurry up and get there before he calls it quits. It wasn’t pretty, I was walking all over the shop. I hit a lot of good shots and a lot of kind of ugly shots but thankfully it all worked out. It feels fantastic, obviously I would have liked to make that putt there on 18 and win that way but it’s been a long time coming, so I’ll take it any way I can get it.”

Bubba eventually faltered, sending his approach shot on the final hole off the back of the green en route to a bogey and a final round of even par 71 and a tournament total of -15 under par, sharing second place with Graeme DeLaet;

He admitted his mistakes;

“Misclubbed on sixteen, we thought it was downwind but obviously it wasn’t. Should have hit one more club. I thought I hit a good putt but obviously I misread that too. I have to work on a couple things.”

Graeme said his practice has been paying off, a tied second place here at -15 under par proves it;

“I have been playing well for the last few months, it seems. I really feel like I worked super hard in the offseason, and it’s nice to see it paying off.”

The only thing Phil Mickelson got right this week-end was the Super-Bowl prediction;

“I like the Seahawks, I think that good defense usually beats good offense, and I think that the man-to-man coverage that the Seahawks provide is going to make it difficult for that quick release of Manning.”

The hot favorites around the World let it slip this week-end, Lydia Ko second in New Zealand, Rory McIlroy failing in Dubai, and now Bubba Watson wasting ( no pun intended) an opportunity here in Scottsdale. Golf is truly a funny game.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

ReBlogIt

Great Content from around the web ......

White Dragon Golf

www.whitedragongolf.com The Future of Putting

tomkennedygolf

Golf, Golf and more Golf! Did I mention it's a Golf Blog!

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Creativenauts

Personal, design, inspiration, interests.

EXPRESS YOURSELF.......

EXPRESSION IS WORTH THE WORDS........

Jane Austen's Love Child

Not actually Jane Austen's love child, just a really bad parker

Funny and Interesting Stuff People Have Sent Me

Humorous, Amazing, Informative and just plain old Interesting Stuff.

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Dryer Vent Devil

We help you to keep the home safe with a clean dryer vent.

Alam Bali Property

Sale / Rent Villa , House & Land. Real Price by Owner

Stronger Golf

Get fitter. Get stronger. Take shots off your score.

I.J. Keddie

Poet (of sorts). I'm hiding behind your curtains.

The Unpolished Putter

It may not be an expert opinion, but its an opinion

Chicago Golf Guy

Blogging about everything Golf in Chicago!

lifeonthelinks

Admit it! You're a Golfaholic...

The GP Golf Report

National Golf News and Golf Opinions

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

