Africa Open. Grillo Gets In Front On Day 3.

dragon logo dark (2)

Emiliano Grillo gets in front on day  3 of the Africa Open at the East London Golf Club.

Emiliano Grillo sinks another putt during his third round 62

Emiliano Grillo  / Getty Images

Emiliano shot a bogey free third round of -9 under par 62 to take the lead at the Africa Open on -20 under par, a two-stroke lead going into the final round tomorrow. It was a positive putting performance that gave him the lead, including a 60 footer on the last hole to save par. Emiliano came close in Dubai, and wants to win this time;

“It was a good round of golf. I played well, but it was the putting that helped the most. I made some good ones on the back nine that kept my round going. I didn’t hit it as close as I would have liked for nine under, but I made them from all over. I played good for the whole round and I am quite happy with my game, so hopefully I can repeat it tomorrow.”

“When you start making a couple of pars in a row you get impatient, so the key around here is waiting for the birdies. It’s definitely more difficult than the past two days. The wind picked up and it was a little different direction to what we have seen, but I played good enough to not care about the wind today. Hopefully we will have similar conditions tomorrow. A great putt on the last hole gave me a lot of confidence for the rest of the year. I thought I had it for a moment in Dubai but Stephen played great on the last few holes so he got the trophy and I got second place, but it felt like a win for me.”

Oliver Fisher is in second place, at -18 under par, he signed for third round -5 under par 66, which included three bogeys, six birdies and an Eagle. He admitted he played some poor shots today;

” I hit a few poor shots, but I’m delighted with the way I finished and pleased with my score for today. I’m two behind and it’s the sort of course where guys can come from a long way back.” 

There are three players tied in third place, Richard Bland, Thomas Aiken and John Hahn, all at -16 under par.

Yesterdays leader John Hahn suffered  two duffed shots on the 12th, which ultimately gave  the 24-year-old Qualifying School graduate his first bogey since the opening day on Thursday. He carded an even par 71, a far cry from yesterday’s 61.We keep saying the time to shoot 61 or 62 is the last round, how often have we seen the low rounds followed by horrible high rounds ?

Someone is going to shoot a -9 or -10 round tomorrow, and win this tournament, so there are lots of possibilities in the field who could still win.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.