www.whitedragongolf.com The Future of Putting

dragon logo darkShell Houston Open Logo There are two players tied at the top of the leaderboard in the Shell Houston Open  at  Golf Club of Houston (formerly known as Redstone Golf Club)

 

Bill Haas is currently 33rd in the FedExCup standings, but is poised for a big jump. (Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

Bill Hass / Getty Images

Bill Hass and Charley Hoffman top the leaderboard at the Shell Houston Open after completing first rounds of -7 under par 65′s, Charley was bogey free.

Bill made six birdies, one eagle and a single bogey, and thinks he is playing OK;

” I feel like I’m hanging around, playing okay, I certainly haven’t knocked on the door on Sunday quite yet. But I feel like I’m doing a lot of good things. It’s not like I’m just lost out there. I feel like I’m close. I think you just have to stay positive, and hopefully one week it all clicks and you find yourself in the mix on Sunday and then try to take advantage of that.”

” The greens are absolutely perfect, I think the scores are reflective on that. They were a little slower, but part of that, too, is the weather. It was like a little dewy mist out there all day, which played a part in the speed of the greens.”

There are five players tied in third place, all at -6 under par, they are, Keegan Bradley, Matt Kuchar, J.B. Holmes, Eric Compton and Jim Renner.

This field is really bunched up, with ten players recording rounds of  -5 under par, 67.

Phil Mickleson is in the hunt, finishing his opening round at -4 under par 68.

Phil’s  bogey-free performance was a world away from last week when he was forced to withdraw during the third round in San Antonio, after pulling a muscle in his right side;

“I’m surprised because I was worried about the Masters. I was certainly worried about Houston, but it healed a lot quicker. I felt great today; didn’t feel any pain or discomfort and didn’t even think about it.”

” One of the things I really worked on hard today was staying focused on each shot.  I needed to play here this week and really challenge myself in that regard to give myself the best chance for next week.”

 Two-time major winner Rory McIlroy settled for an opening round of -2 under par 70, which he said was a solid round;

 “Solid, if unspectacular start here in Houston. Really happy with my form from tee to green. Hole a few more putts and I’ll be right there.”

“The greens weren’t quite as fast as we’re used to here, so I struggled getting the ball to the hole. I just need to work on my speed a little bit, but I’m very encouraged with how I hit the ball. I just didn’t score particularly well.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Thea's Blog

Live Life Happy

White Dragon Golf

www.whitedragongolf.com The Future of Putting

Golf Is Mental

Join me on the endless pursuit to play better and golf the world.

Two Kids plus dad

A Blog about a father and his two kids

fujinsei

An anime, manga, and anything about Japan blog.

jinmanmarket

A fine WordPress.com site

kapitigoldengroup

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Twilight Tee Time

Golf reviews, news, and commentary

Aquamosh's Blog

Something about Everything

JAMESMAYORBLOG.COM

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

BUSINESS THROUGH ACTION

THIS SITE IS ALL ABOUT EVENTS AND MORE

alifemoment

Colourful Food and Lifestyle

Javier Grassl

Mobile photos at Buenos Aires

ReBlogIt

Great Content from around the web ......

tomkennedygolf

Golf, Golf and more Golf! Did I mention it's a Golf Blog!

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

