Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. Stacy Still in Front

dragon logo dark

Stacy Lewis still leads the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic, albeit by just one shot from Lydia Ko.

A determined Stacy Lewis / Getty

Stacy compiled a third round -4 under par 68 for a total of -10 under par, in the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic in California. Stacy and Lydia have paired together each day and the battle is intense, but that is how she likes it;

“It’s just fun to feed off each other like that. She hits it in there close on 16, I know I need to do something. I make a putt, and she chips in on 15 after I’ve hit it close. More than anything, it was just a lot of fun. We’re both playing great golf. It’s fun to watch her play. We’ll do it another day tomorrow.”

“My caddie, we’re going on our sixth year, he knows my game; he knows me. The front nine he just kept telling me to be patient, be patient, be patient, because there would be only opportunities later. My caddie and I, he’s like a brother to me.  We know each other so well.  Definitely helped me out there today.”

Lydia has not been with her local caddie for too long, but she still recorded a -4 under par round. for a total -9 under par, to stay in touch;

It’s my sixth day with him, I had Domingo on my bag two years ago when I was on this course.  Six days this year, this week. Yeah, no, he obviously knows the course really well growing up from here and playing a lot of golf.  Yeah, I think that’s been a huge help.”

“There are some tricky putts out there.  There are some double breakers.  So it’s good to have a local guy, I guess, knowing what it’s going to do.” 

Jenny Shin is in third place on her own, she also carded a the very popular -4 under par third round, and total of -6 under par. She said she had suffered her whole golfing life from short putts;

“My whole life I hit putts short, so hitting it past the hole was my main goal this year.  I said, ‘I don’t care what I shoot, I’m just going to hit it past the hole.’ When you hit it in on right line, it starts going in.  That was the key to my round.”

Hee Young Park also recorded the popular -4 under par round, and a total of -5 under par leaves her in fourth position alone. She mentioned the wind yesterday and perfect weather today. It was also handy to have a Korean market close by;

“It was bit tough to measure my distance all the time because the wind always switched yesterday. But today weather is perfect, and I just try to do my every single shot my best. Weather was good. That was big different compared yesterday and today.” 

“Just enjoy, eat dinner. Right outside of the entrance I have the Korea market, so I always get Korean food. I’m staying at a rental house this week so cooking every night, so I’m going to probably do same thing.”

Leave a Reply

