Wells Fargo Championship, J.B. Holmes Leads. Mickelson & McIlroy Move on Moving Day

dragon logo darkWells Fargo Championship Logo

J.B. Holmes leads the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow, while Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy move on up on moving day.

Big-hitting Holmes in front

J.B. Holmes / Getty Images

J.Bwho retained status for the rest of the season last week on his major medical extension, carded a third-round 66 to grab the 54-hole lead at -13 under par in the Wells Fargo Championship on Saturday. He said retaining his status relieved the pressure on him;

” It was nice more than anything just to solidify my schedule a little but, it was nice to get that off my back. I’m happy to be out here and go out tomorrow and do the best I can, and if I win, that’s great. If it ends up not being my day, then I’m just thankful to be out here, and happy to have the opportunity that I have.”

He also thinks the enforced elbow surgery was t he best thing to happen to him;

“I thought it might be the best thing that could have happened to me. Gave me a year off from golf. I got to spend time with family and friends and did a lot of rehab, so it wasn’t all vacation, but it was nice to get away from it a little bit.”

 

Martin Flores / Getty

Martin Flores is still in the hunt, shooting a third round -3 under par 69 and a -12 under par tournament total. Martin had avoided looking at a scoreboard all day long;

“I didn’t look at a leaderboard all day. I just thought that was irrelevant, because there are so many good players out here, that if you’re not attacking and trying to move forward, you can get passed. So I didn’t even know where I was. I knew I was playing well. But, you know, I just didn’t think the leaderboard was important.”

 

In contention after 63

Phil Mickelson / Getty

Phil Mickelson is in third place after a making a big move on moving day, he posted a marvelous -9 under par bogey free 63. He carded seven birdies and an Eagle to attain his total of -11 under par. He said he put it all together today, a bit of an under statement;

“I was able to put everything together, I played well from tee to green. I hit the ball well, put it in play, I hit good iron shots and was able to capitalize on those shots with some good putts, and it feels good because I hadn’t really been able to put it all together this year.  It felt close, hasn’t felt far away, and to put it together today, it’s nice.”

“Historically here, the winner has not come from the last group, but from a few groups before. When you know that you’re out in front of the leaders, and you have a chance to kind of light up the board first, that’s an opportunity, and guys have typically done that here and won. It’s been tougher to follow suit, seeing those guys in front make birdies.”

Rory McIlroy also made a move today, a -7 under par round of 65, to move him up to -6 under par for the tournament and tied eleventh. In 2010 Rory also made the cut on the number,+1 over par, then proceeded to shoot a 62 in the final round to win. He is hoping that history will repeat itself, at least he has good memories;

“It does bring back memories, in 2010, I bogeyed the 18th hole on Saturday to shoot 66, so I had a putt on 18 to go one better. So that’s why I gave a first pump. I was sort of thinking of that. At least I’ve given myself a chance.”

Leave a Reply

