Madeira Islands Open. Scott Henry Leads Fog Affected Tournament

dragon logo dark

 

Scott Henry leads the fog affected Madeira Islands Open in Portugal.Scott Henry  (Getty Images)

Scott Henry / Getty Images

Scott carded a -5 under par 65 first round before the fog returned and play was abandoned for the day. The unpredictable weather and heavy fog is playing havoc with the beginning of The European Tour’s 1,500th official event at Clube de Golf do Santo da Serra.

Play started at 7:45am on Friday morning, but only briefly as more fog moved in causing another suspension at 9:00am. Round One eventually resumed at 12:45pm, giving Scott enough time to finish his round before play was suspended due to darkness.

Scott was happy to be in the club house lead, but knows there is still a long way to go yet in the tournament;

“It was certainly tough yesterday, I was in the clubhouse for ten hours, from 7:00am, so it was long. I drank a lot of coffee and ate a lot of Madeira cake, that was about it. I think the cake kept me going today”

“I got off to a fast start which was nice, recently, in the few tournaments I’ve played, I haven’t done that so it was nice to start well. It was a tough day and I would have taken five under before I went out. It was strange,  because it was so tough I didn’t expect to get to seven under like I did. I had a couple of tough holes to finish with and two bogeys in the last two was a bit frustrating.”

“I’m really pleased though, I played well and I’m in the hunt for tomorrow. Hopefully we can get 36 more holes done. That’s going to be the biggest challenge. I’m quite happy just to be in the hunt. I feel like I’m playing good again so whatever happens tomorrow I’m looking forward to it. It would be amazing to win but we have a long way to go.”

Tied in third place are Andrew Marshall, Pedro Oriol and former European Tour winner Martin Weigele, all with completed rounds of -3 under par.

Martin was also happy to have completed his round, and is delighted with the way he is playing after an enforced long lay-off recovering from hip surgery;

“I was very pleased with my day because the conditions were really tough, it was actually one of the best rounds I’ve ever managed to play in the wind. I hope that my practise since winter and my fitness work has paid off and I will try to carry on in this good form.”

“It was probably as windy as in Lumine on the Challenge Tour a few weeks ago, where we had to stop playing because the balls were moving on the greens, but they are slower here and more sheltered.”

“It was a really bad year for me last year but after having hip surgery almost two years ago I had to stop playing eight months and they say that if you stop playing for a long time, you need three times the amount of time to recover so if I can get back the way I was in 2011 already it would be awesome.”

Leave a Reply

