Madeira Islands Open. Play-Off Win for Brooks Daniels.

dragon logo darkBrooks Daniels wins the Madeira Islands Open in a play-off against Scott Henry.

Daniel Brooks  (Getty Images)

Brooks Daniels / Getty Images

Brooks carded a -5 under par second and final round in the Madeira Islands Open to reach -9 under par for the 36 hole tournament. Scott scored a -4 under par final round, leaving him tied at the top of the leaderboard at -9 under par. He then bogeyed the first play-off hole handing the win to Brooks who carded a par on the 18th to win his maiden Tour title.

This short tournament was further saddened by the death of  caddie Iain McGregor, Brooks referred to the incident;

“It’s great to get a win, but it’s not nice to do it in these circumstances, it’s horrible what happened out there so my condolences go out to all of his family.”

 

“I’m over the moon to have won on The European Tour but I played good golf for the last few days so I’m happy with that. Scott did really well in the last three holes and it was a great performance from him. I was pretty calm during the play-off, more tired than anything, but I was a little bit nervous obviously.”

 

“Anything can happen in a play-off so to hit the fairway from the tee was nice and then to hit a good shot in and put him under a bit of pressure was great. It’s why we play golf, to win, so I’m really happy.”

Scottsaid it only took one good putt to get him fired up at the end;

” Obviously I was not looking like catching up with Daniel towards the end, but then I holed probably the best putt I’ve holed all week at the 15th hole and that got me going. The last three holes I holed some really good putts so it was good just to force a play-off.

“I’m obviously disappointed to be beaten in a play-off but everything that’s happened, it puts things into perspective a little.”

Fabrizio Zanotti, Julien Guerrier, Jordi Garcia Pinto and Antonio Hortal shared third place on -6 under par for this sad tournament



 

 

Leave a Reply

