Open de España. Thomas Pieters Still There

dragon logo dark

Thomas Pieters is still there at the top of the leaderboard of the Open de España going into the final round Sunday.

Thomas Pieters  (Getty Images)

Thomas Pieters / Getty Images

 

Thomas carded a -1 under par 71 third round to remain at the top of the Open de España leaderboard at -7 under par for the tournament. He will take a precious two shot lead into the final round over home favourite Miguel Angel Jiménez.

Thomas is looking forward to going round with Miguel in the final round;

It was a solid day. I hit solid shots and really played to my strengths. I got two over par early just because my short game wasn’t sharp enough but I took advantage of the par fives again today and the shots dropped in the end.”

“I stayed really patient, you need to be on this course and I’m getting better and better at it. You know that it’s going to be a hard day and an even par is a good score. I’ve always done well on really tough courses, I like grinding it out, not having to shoot six or seven under. Today I shot one under and I’m in the lead. I’m excited for tomorrow. I’ll just go out to play golf, obviously playing for a win too.”

“Playing with Jiménez will be fun, I’ll get to learn a lot from him and I’ll just soak it all in. I’ve never played with him or any of the big names. The crowd will also be bigger and all the support will go to him but I just have to play my own game.”

Miguel was upset that he did not close the gap closer, shooting a -3 under par 68, for a -5 under par total;

“I’m a little disappointed with that, I didn’t hit it very well the last few holes. I played very well the first nine holes and was solid until the 14th but made a bad bogey on the 15th where I three-putted from eight meters and also bogeyed the last.”

There are three players tied in third place at -4 under par, they are Richie Ramsay, Richard Green and Chris Wood.

Ross Fisher shot the low round of the day,carding  eagles on the 12th and 15th on his way to returning a -5 under par 67 third round, climbing 29 places to share sixth spot. He was naturally very pleased with his progress;

I’m very pleased, starting the day two over par I wanted to get into red figures and I managed to do that. I played really well and the difference from yesterday to today was that I had the speed of the greens. Yesterday I really struggled, I felt the greens were a lot slower than they were on Thursday morning so I’m pleased to go out there and play a solid round of golf.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

