BMW PGA Championship. Record Start for Thomas Björn.

dragon logo dark

 Thomas Bjorn managed a record start to the rain affected BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth Club, on the West Course.

Thomas Bjorn  (Getty Images)

 Thomas Björn / Getty Images

Thomas compiled a record breaking first round of -10 under par 62 in the BMW PGA Championship. He carded the best round of his entire career, and the lowest on Wentworth’s redesigned West Course, after carding his brilliant 62. He finished just before the first suspension of play due to rain, and a second suspension later in the day meant that 33 players were unable to complete their opening rounds, and would have to resume tomorrow before the second round gets under way.

Thomas was signing his card on the 18th as the siren went, he was pleased to get in and also banish the memories of  the missed the cut in last week’s Open de España;

“I was signing my scorecard when the siren went and Stephen Gallacher looked at me and says, ‘You’re not having a very bad day, are you? We could kind of feel there was something going on in the weather, so it was nice to get in.”

“You shoot great rounds in your career but to shoot 62 on this course, you can’t ask for more. I don’t really know where to start. Last week was awful and I was starting to feel a little frustrated with things. Practice this week I was not good either.”

“To step out on this course of all courses and play like I did today was surprising. Although I lived here for nine years it’s not a place where I think it’s going to be a great week, but I have to stick my head down now and focus on the rest of the week.”

In second place in the clubhouse is Shane Lowery, who signed for a -8 under par 64 completed opening round. He is a great fan of this course, so he could be a big threat to Thomas especially if his old putter keeps on working;

“I love it around here, It’s a great event, It’s a great golf course. I’ve been struggling and my best finish this season was last week, tied 15th in the Spanish Open. I’ve missed a few cuts and haven’t really been putting that well but I managed to find something at home a couple of weeks ago and hopefully can keep it going.”

“I went back to an old putter that I used years ago and it brought back good memories maybe.”

Third place belongs to Raphael Cabrera-Bello, who has also finished his first round, with a -7 under par 65 score. All the big guns are a long way off the leader, Rory McIlroy, Henrik Stenson and Martin Kaymer are closest at -4 under par after their opening rounds of 68.  If  Thomas cards another good round tomorrow it would make it extremely difficult for the top players to catch him.

Sergio Garcia had to retire from the tournament after an opening round of 73, due to a knee injury.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

