Airbus LPGA Classic. Catriona Still Cruzing.

dragon logo dark

 

 

Catriona Mathew is still cruising along at the top of the leaderboard in the Airbus LPGA Classic on The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Crossing Course.

Catriona Matthew

Catriona Mathew / Getty

Catriona posted a much-needed -5 under par 67 to retain the lead in the Airbus LPGA Classic with a half-way total of -13 under par. She was well aware of the score Charley Hull had put together;

” We had gone out in the morning yesterday and had low scores and you knew they were going to do the same this morning. Just have to stay patient and give yourself chances and hopefully you’ll hole some of them.”

“I hit 17 greens so I gave myself a lot of chances. I didn’t hole many on the front nine, but then the putter got going a little bit on the back nine. Nice to shoot 5‑under.”

“There’s still 36 holes to go, if it’s anything like the first two days, we’re going to have to keep making birdies.”

 Charley was in the clubhouse at -12 under par after her -5 under par 67, and predicted that Catriona would go low;

 Charley Hull / Getty

“I think Catriona Matthew could go low today this afternoon because she’s at 8 under anyway. But, you know,  it’s a low scoring golf course.  I don’t know, we’ll see at the end of the day.”

“I try and set my goals as like I want to birdie; not so much have goals, but when I make, I think oh, I want to birdie the next five holes in. I didn’t quite do that today, I had like three instead.  Yeah, stuff like that when you get on a birdie roll.  This morning when I started off par, par, par, I was a bit frustrated because I wanted to make birdie straightaway, but I got one towards the end.”

Hee Young Park, Anna Nordqvist and Jessica Korda are tied in third place, all on -10 under par for the tournament.

Hee Young Park was paired up with Catriona and was inspired to play well, which she did;

“I played with Catriona Matthew and Jodi, we played so good and I think really good competitor team yesterday and today, so I really enjoyed it.  And I played really well last week, too, so my feel is not really gone.  I am pretty ready and I’m going to do two more days same like this.”

Jessica was there at the end last year, and is prepared to do well again;

“I was in contention last year so I know what it takes. Just trying to make birdies when you have the opportunity would be the best I could do.”

 “Kind of just seemed like yesterday I got the ball close and was able to kind of make a couple putts on my front nine, which was the back nine, so hopefully I can keep that momentum going.”

 

Leave a Reply

