Airbus LPGA Classic. Nordqvist Nudges Ahead.

dragon logo dark

Anna Nordqvist nudges ahead at the Airbus LPGA Classic, taking a one shot lead into the final round.

Anna Norqvist / Getty Images

Anna fired a -6 under par 66 to take a one shot lead into the final day of the Airbus LPGA Classic, with -16 under par total. She is excited about the challenge of tomorrow;

“You know, stepping up to the tee box every day, they announce you as a four‑time winner and major champion and Solheim Cup, I just feel very proud of myself what I’ve accomplished in my career and hopefully I will just keep adding achievements along the way, but I’m excited for tomorrow and can’t wait.”

“All I can do is put myself in a position to have a chance tomorrow and I felt like I’ve done that. Last year I was in the final group and I was playing well and there was a lot of people coming from behind, so I know this golf course, you can never relax.  You always have to keep pushing forward and trying to make birdies because if you don’t, someone else will. “

Keeping her close company is the persistent Catriona Mathew, three bogey’s kept her score down to -2 under par 70 today. That still adds up to a -15 under par total, and she is well in contention;

” I obviously got off to a terrible start with the three bogeys when everyone else is making birdies.  Just knew there was a lot of chances there on the back nine if I could just hang in and try to give myself; start hitting greens again and give myself chances.  Made four birdies on the back nine, so not the greatest round but not played myself out of it.”

 “I think you come into every tournament wanting to win it, so that was my goal, to come here and win.  You know, I’ve been playing well all year, just not holing any putts.  So if I can get my putter going, things can go well.”

Stacy Lewis is in third place at -14 under par, and feeling good;

 “I felt good, it was a pretty solid day.  Definitely could have been a lot better, so I like that going into tomorrow that I didn’t play the best round today.  I left quite a few out there but still made a lot of birdies and got the ball in the hole and it was a good day.”

Another hotly contested event, which makes it an exciting spectacle for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

