Airbus LPGA Classic. Jessica Korda Cruises to Victory

dragon logo dark

Jessica Korda cruises to victory in the Airbus LPGA Classic on the RTJ Golf Trail, The Crossings Course.

 

Jessica Korda: Flying finish for Airbus success

Jessica Korda / Getty

Jessica shot a final round -7 under par 65 , converting a breaking 15-foot birdie putt on the par-4 18th for a winning total of -20 under par. She loves the course and it showed;

“It just sets up great for my game, I can be aggressive, I can read the greens. My confidence just was rising every single day. I just love it here. I love Alabama, I love this golf course, and hopefully we’ll have this tournament for a very, very long time.”

“Yesterday was a little frustrating because I was always around the hole and same thing actually on the front nine, watching Michelle make putt after putt after putt and mine were just kind of missing. I was like, OK, it’s time to drop now. Then they started dropping on the back nine. It was a really relaxed day, so I really enjoyed the walk.”

“Charley was making birdies, Michelle was making birdies and everybody behind us was making birdies, so I knew I had to keep making birdies. “That last putt broke really hard,” I probably played it about a yard out and I was just trying to get it down there close and it went in. I have not played well since I won in the Bahamas but I’ve been working hard and it finally paid off here.”

Anna Nordqvist finished in second place, a -3 under par 69, giving her a -19 under par total.

Catriona Mathew, Michelle Wie and Charley Hull all finished tied in third spot at -18 under par. Michelle felt old playing alongside Charley and Jessica in the last round;

“I love playing with Korda, it’s also really great playing with Charley as well, too. You feel old but it was a lot of fun.”

“I knew I needed a low score, I got hot starting on and just didn’t quite get it together on the back nine, but still I shot five under today and there’s really nothing I can do. I’m just really happy for Korda. I had a lot of fun playing with her and I knew I needed a low number and I just didn’t hit it low enough.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

