Nordea Masters. Quiros Class Takes Him Into A Tie The Top

dragon logo dark

Alvaro Quiros let his class shine through and take him into a three-way tie at the top of the Nordea Masters tournament.

Alvaro Quiros  (Getty Images)

Classy Alvaro Quiros / Getty Images

Alvaro shot a second round -5 under par 67, the low round of the day, to join Victor Dubuisson and Eddie Pepperell at the top of the Nordea Masters leaderboard at -6 under par.

Alvaro was pleased with his round, although he did not putt too well;

“I’ve been hitting the ball very well from tee to green, but even with the scores I’ve had I have not putted great. I had one putt from eight metres for eagle on 11, but apart from that I’ve had a lot of putts from around five or six metres and not holed any. So even though I’m happy I could have putted better.” 

“This course is playing a few holes long, and even the short ones are feeling easy. My length helps but the important thing is to control it. The distance control is hard in this wind though. At least it was warmer today than yesterday.” 

Victor was especially thrilled with his effort of -3 under par 69 today;

“It’s a great score, I played good today. It was more difficult than yesterday because the wind was in a different direction and it made some of the par fives difficult to make birdie on. My short game was good and that was important.” 

Eddie was happy to just hang in there, carding a second round of even par;

“I did pretty well today, hanging in there was what it was all about today. I shot level par which I think is pretty good today; it was so windy out there. No hole was easy, it seemed, so I’m very pleased to be in a share of the lead still heading into the weekend.” 

“The course showed its teeth today. It becomes fun when it is this tough as everyone else is finding it hard. It’s about hanging in there and not letting it get to you. I enjoy that type of golf. I’ve grown up playing amateur stuff in England on links in these sort of conditions, so I enjoy it.” 

“This is like an Open Championship out there. The sun is burning the course out and it’s windy, so it is tough.”

A stiff breeze made for a tough day, with World Number Two Henrik Stenson menacingly placed just one shot off the lead at -5 under par, along with a group of players which includes first round joint leader local boy Jens DantorpStephen Gallacher, Chris Doak, Bradley Dredge and Thongchai Jaidee.

Henrik thought he could have done better today, I guess we all have those thoughts when we walk off the course;

“I played better today than I did yesterday and of course I would have wished for a bit more.”

Leave a Reply

