Nordea Masters. Henrik Joins Eddie at the Top.

dragon logo dark

Henrik Stenson alights the home crowd by joining Eddie Pepperell at the top of the Nordea Masters leaderboard at the conclusion of round three.

 

Eddie Pepperell hit eight birdies on his way to a share of the lead at the Nordea Masters  Nordea 1

Eddie Pepperell and Henrik Stenson / Getty Images

Henrik shot -8 under par 64 in the third round of the Nordea Masters, to catch Eddie at the top of the leaderboard at -13 under par, in Sweden. Henrik the Worlds number two collected seven birdies, adding an eagle at the seventh, recording one bogey, at the par three 15th. He was keen to tell us how good the shot was that brought him an Eagle two at the 7th hole;

That was a great shot and it all started with the six iron on the previous hole. Last year I hit a lot of good iron shots that didn’t go in, so it was nice to finally see one go in. I knew it was going to be inside ten feet when I hit it and it landed about five feet away, had a little release and hop and went in.”

“The crowds have been great. I haven’t played in front of home crowds for a while and with the success I’ve had I really feel the support. I’m going to enjoy tomorrow and try to be up there tomorrow with nine to go and try to win this tournament for them.” 

“It would be great to do it. I’ve not won in Sweden before and obviously I would like to do that in my career. It seems like I’m going to have a chance tomorrow, but there is a long way to go and a lot of good players up there. I’m sure I need to stick to my play and be there when it really matters tomorrow.”

Eddie was no slouch in the third round carding a -7 under par 65, and is happy to be competing against Henrik in his own country;

“I had great fun out there, I felt comfortable out there. I’m really happy with myself, the game feels pretty good.” 

“It was a great start with three birdies in a row. I was flying and I missed good opportunities on four and five. Then I had a sticky spell with my swing, but hung in there. I would like to have finished with a birdie on the last two holes, but I’m not too unhappy about that.” 

“On 17 I had a good swing, bad putt. On 18 I just hit a slight pull and the wind just took it in the water, but I can’t be too disappointed as I committed fully. Henrik is tied with me so it is going to be a great day tomorrow, but I’ve just keep to keep focused on my game and do what I’ve been doing. If I do that I’ll have a shot come the last and I’ll enjoy it.”

“Henrik is one of the best players in the world, he’s in fine form and it is his home country. I couldn’t ask for much more really from a final round. It’s going to be really exciting for me and I’ve got to make it exciting for him.” 

Stephan Gallacher and Alvaro Quiros are tied in third place, at -12 under par, just one shot behind the leaders. It is a compacted leaderboard and it will be an exciting contest to see who comes out on top tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

