ShopRite LPGA Classic. Stacy Lewis Wins

dragon logo dark

Stacy Lewis wins the ShopRite LPGA Classic, a six shot victory and regained the No. 1 spot in the Rolex World Rankings.

New World No1 Stacy Lewis / Getty images

Stacy fired a final round -4 under par 67 to register a tournament total of -16 under par, six shots ahead of the field. It obviously felt great to be No1, and she intends to hang onto it;

It feels great, I feel like I’ve played a lot of good, consistent golf over the last year and I felt like I deserve to be here. I didn’t feel like I stumbled into it.”

“I don’t know what it is about this place, it’s just really special to me. I’ve played some really good golf here, and it’s just mind-boggling to think I have 10 wins.”

“The last time it was taken away from me in an off-week when we weren’t even playing, so I’m definitely just not going to take it for granted and really enjoy it this time. Now I know all the extra things that come along with it. But I’m ready for it this time. With a good team of people around me.” 

She joins Anna Sorenstam (1998, 2002, 2005), Juli Inkster (1986, 1988) and Betsy King (1987, 1995, 2001) as the only multiple winners of the tournament. She said it was a great list of golfers;

“That’s a pretty good list of people there, that’s not too bad. Wow, that’s really cool.”

Christina Kim was way back in second place at -10 under par for the tournament, a final round +1 over par dashed any hopes she harbored of winning this title

“I hadn’t been in contention in a while so I kind of forgot what it was like having nerves. And it kind of showed on the last hole.”

There were four ladies tied in third place at -9 under par; Jenny Johnson, Anna Nordqvist, Gerina Pillar and Haeji Kang.

Inbee Park, the ousted number one,closed with a -1 under par 70 to tie for eighth at -7 under par. She’s winless in ten tour starts this season after winning the first three majors last year and then finishing the season with six victories. It’s a weight off her shoulders;

“It is a little bit relief not to have the big heavy crown on my head, it’s not the end of the world.”

Leave a Reply

