Manulife Financial LPGA Classic. Two Lovely Ladies Tied at the Top.

dragon logo dark

 

ManulifeFinancialLPGAClassic_188x84

There are two lovely ladies tied at the top of the leaderboard in the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic at the  Grey Silo Golf Course, in Canada. Michelle Wie and Hee Young Park both share the top spot

Michelle Wie during Saturday's third round of the LPGA's 2014 Kraft Nabisco Championship.

Michelle Wie / Associated Press

Michelle started early, knowing she had to make birdies, the winning score of 26 under was on her mind, and she was not too pleased with her -6 under par 65 first round;

“I was early off and I just wanted to make a lot of birdies early on, and just especially 26 under winning this last year. It’s definitely one of those golf courses where you have to keep making birdies. My 6 under today, you know, it’s not enough. I need to keep making birdies for the rest of the weekend. Still a lot of work cut out for me.”

Defending Champion Hee Young Park, with her caddie, had plotted out where the birdie chances were to be had during the practice rounds. she thinks last years total could be bettered;

“I just keep thinking positive, keep it simple, and then I didn’t really expect to play well today because last year and this year, pretty different golf condition.”

“I hope so, that’s wishing. But I’m just happy today played pretty good and then shoot under par, which is I think maybe six under par, pretty good position. Still three more rounds left, so going to keep staying patient and doing same thing.”

Shanshan Feng is just one shot behind following her opening effort of -5 under par 66, she is also aware that this competition is a birdie fest;

“Well, this course is normally a birdie course, so everybody’s going to make a lot of birdies. Today I think the wind picked up a little so the course was playing longer. I think five under, I stayed patient because even though I miss a lot of birdie putts but I stayed patient and I think that was the key.”

“I mean, like for me I always, you know, tell myself to be patient even though I miss a lot of birdie putts because last year here everything was really bad so I missed the cut by one. This year here I’m not giving myself any pressure. Make it and make it. If I don’t make it, it’s still okay.”

Cristie Kerr and Xi Yu Lin share fourth spot, both at -4 under par.  World No. 1 Stacy Lewis shot -2 under par 69, leaving her four shots back. World No. 2 Inbee Park is tied for 18th with Stacy and fourteen others.

Lydia Ko has made a poor start to this competition, shooting a first round of even par, which at the moment leaves her on the projected cut line, currently tied 54th.

Leave a Reply

