FedEx St Jude Classic. Crane Keeps His Lead.

dragon logo dark

 

FedEx St. Jude Classic Logo

Ben Crane increased his lead at the rain interrupted FedEx St Jude Classic at TPC Southwind.

Ben Crane holds a big lead entering the weekend at the FedEx St. Jude Classic at TPC Southwind. (Stan Badz/PGA TOUR)

Ben Crane / Getty Images

Ben Crane followed his first round 63 with second round -5 under par 65, to increase his advantage to six shots at the top of the FedEx St Jude Classic at a wet and windy TPC Southwind. He posted a clubhouse score of -12 under par for the two completed rounds, other have yet to finish their second rounds.

Ben had plenty to say about his round and how good the greens are;

 

‘I certainly didn’t see this coming, but you know when you’re putting well, I started to feel like I was a little more in control of my ball, just felt like I was tightening my draws and fades a little bit. I had access to some holes I haven’t this year and so gosh, it’s been an incredible two days.”

“It was a dream round of golf, I’m just so thrilled to be playing well. I just kept making putts and giving myself opportunities, and then you don’t feel like you have to hit it so close. It’s certainly the way you want to play golf. The greens are so pure and the hole just opened up. I love the extra element of grain, how it accentuates, most of the time, the break.”

“We had ideal scoring conditions. The wind laid down for us after the storm yesterday and the greens softened up a bit. Today it was calm this morning.”

“I certainly didn’t expect to be here, if someone would have told me a couple days ago I’d be standing in front of a bunch of cameras, I would have asked, ‘What did I do?’  It’s been a really, really hard year. You start wondering, ‘Am I going to get it back?’ 

Carl Pettersson is tied in second place at -6 under par for the tournament, he is currently at -3 under par for his second round, with one hole left to play.

Jason Bohn shares second place at -6 under par with two holes left to play. Davis love 111 and Billy Horshel are at -5 for the tournament, with completed second rounds, while Peter Malnati is tied with them at that score, but has yet to even start his second round.
There is a whole heap of p[layers who are yet to even start their second rounds, lets just hope a lot of golf is played tomorrow so that the picture becomes clearer.

 

Leave a Reply

