FedEx St Jude Classic. Round Three Incomplete. Crane Still Cruising.

dragon logo dark

 

FedEx St. Jude Classic Logo

The weather is still causing havoc in the third round of the FexEx St Jude Classic, but Ben Crane is still cruising at TPC Southwind.

The skies were friendly enough Saturday to allow the final group to play more than six holes. (Stan Badz/PGA TOUR)

Ben Crane / Getty Images

Ben has only completed six holes of his third round at TPC Southwind, and is -1 under par on the day. His -13 under par total is still four shots ahead of the field. Play will resume at 7 a.m. local time Sunday, but Ben is in for a long haul, he will have 30 holes remaining tomorrow.

He began his third round at 4:50 p.m. on Saturday, that’s more than 24 hours after he  completed his second-round -5 under par 65, but started where he left off, making a 20-foot birdie putt to reach his -13 under par total;

“That was a fun surprise, I’m thankful it hit the hole.  At the beginning of the week, I never thought I would have been here.”

Troy Merritt is in second place at -9 under par for the tournament, he has completed seven holes of his third round and is currently -2 under par for the round.

Troy joked about getting out of bed early in the morning was the hardest part of the day;

“Other than that, I just hope to get it all in. I’ve made a lot of putts, I think I only missed two putts inside of 10 feet. Been rolling it well. Been keeping stupid in the bag pretty well and things have gone my way for the most part.”

 Troy has pledged $100 per birdie to the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. He led the field with 15 birdies in the first two rounds, and made two in seven holes in the third round.

“It’s a little extra incentive, it’s for a very good cause for the kids over at St. Jude’s.”

Sitting in third place at -8 under par is Peter Malnati, he also has completed seven holes of his third round with a -1 under par return on his efforts;

“If anything, today was kind of cool because we went out there in the second-to-last group and it was kind of low-key because it was so late in the day, there wasn’t a lot going on. It was probably helpful, honestly. What I need to do is to stay focused on my plan, and to have these distractions is just an added reminder to do that.”

“To get in this position I’m playing some good golf, so my confidence is pretty high and I believe in myself. For the first time all year, I feel like I belong there. There are some nerves, but I think that’s a good thing. I feel really composed.”

Phil Mickelson has finished nine holes of his third round, still at even par for the day and sitting at -5 under par for the tournament. His play is still pretty erratic, and he was upset at not making a birdie at the par five 16th, he even had to sink a 16 footer for par;

“I had a chance to get up and down, I think if I had birdied 16 I might have gotten one more with a little bit of momentum. I’m certainly not that far back, but I do need to get off to a quick start. I got to get a good front nine here this third round and get off to a fast start.”

Biggest name to miss the cut was Lee Westwood, there has been no explanation as to what went wrong.

Leave a Reply

