Lyoness Open. Joost Jumps Ahead.

dragon logo dark

 

Defending champion Joost Luiten jumps ahead in the Lyoness Open in Austria, and will take a two shot lead into the final round tomorrow.

Joost Luiten   (Getty Images)

Joost Luiten / Getty Images

The defending champion Joost fired his best round of the week so far, as he recorded a -6 under par 66, which gave him a Lyoness Open tournament total of -11 under par, and a two shot lead  at Diamond Country Club.

Joost is playing well, carding seven birdies against one bogey in his round, and making some good putts;

“I’m happy, 66 is good, it could have been a bit lower as I was playing really well, especially the first 12 holes, but it’s been a really good day. I’ve been playing consistently and hitting some good shots and making some good putts.”

“All I can do is focus on this tournament now and playing here, next week is a new week. I am in a good position so I just want to finish it off tomorrow and see if we can win again here.”

“I know Bernd is a good player so it will be a very good battle and there are a few more guys behind who are not out of it yet. It’s going to be an interesting day.”

Local favorite Austrian Bernd Weisberger is in second place, just two shots back of the leader at -9 under par. Bernd also scored seven birdies and one bogey in his -6 under par 66 third round, who could also qualify for the US Open by finishing outright second, depending on results elsewhere;

“I played really well today and created a lot of chances, especially on the front nine when I think I had a birdie putt on virtually every hole. I holed a few longer ones but missed a few shorter ones, so it probably evened itself out overall. I also had a few looks on the back nine and managed to take a couple, although it was disappointing not to take advantage of either of the par fives. But I’ve made a nice move up the leaderboard, which was the main aim today.”

“It’s always nice to play well in front of the home fans and they were great today. It was an important putt to make, to make up some ground on Joost, and I think the crowd’s reaction showed that. It’ll be important not to get too much into match play mode tomorrow, because then other players could sneak up on us. All I can do is try my best and hope it’s good enough.”

“I’m not going to think about the US Open tomorrow. I’ll try to get myself into position to lift the trophy, which would mean I can play next week as well, but it won’t be on my mind. I’ll just try and do the same thing as today. Everybody says that in my position, but I am feeling calm and good.”

Fabritizo Vanotti is holding third place at -7 under par, while David Horsey signed for the round of the day a -7 under par 65, which gave him a -5 under par total and a share of fifth place.

David was happy to take his good practice game out onto the course;

“It’s been coming for a while to be honest, I’ve been hitting it nicely on the range and just not quite been able to take it out on the golf course.” 

Leave a Reply

