FedEx St. Jude Classic. Ben Hangs On For Victory.

dragon logo dark

FedEx St. Jude Classic Logo

Ben Crane started the final round with a four shot lead, and hung on for victory in the FedEx St Jude Classic at TPC Southwind in Memphis.

 

Ben Crane / USATSI

Ben stumbled to a final round +1 over par 73, but had enough to hang on and win the FedEx St Jude Classic by one shot. His phone lit up with text messages pouring in;

“Oh my gosh, it just keeps going, how many can a phone hold? This is so much fun. I was just so nervous, so excited, so thrilled that my game has come around. I did a lot of praying, lot of thanking God for some fun days.”

“This win is different for me, I want to treat it differently and I really want to enjoy it. I don’t want to act like there’s five more behind it.”

“This has been a really tough year, I had to finally become OK with golf not being in the picture. I just felt like things were going in that direction and so I just got to the place where I said, ‘Lord if it’s not golf, I will love You.’ But if it is that would be really fun.”

Troy Merritt was in second place, his finishing round was also disappointing, a -1 under par 71, but -9 under par for the tournament was a good score.

“I hit the ball actually pretty similar to the way I’ve been hitting it most of the year, I made a lot of putts this week. That’s what you have to do out here if you want to contend and be there on Sunday afternoon.”

“Ben played great, hats off to him. Well deserved. He’s been struggling for a little while. Very happy for Ben.”

Webb Simpson had one of the lower rounds of the day, a -4 under par 66, which got him into a tie for third place with Carl Pettersen and Matt Every.

Webb is finding some form after a lean spell;

“It’s what I’ve been looking for, for a few months now, it seems. I came in this week feeling good after three weeks off, put together a good weekend and finally got some birdies there on Sunday.”

Phil Mickelson ended the tournament at -6 under par, tied in 11th spot. He is feeling good about his prospects in the U.S. Open;

“Pretty good, The way I drove the ball the last two rounds, I had an opportunity to shoot really low. My iron play was poor and my putting was pathetic. Sometimes I just have to change it up to get a little bit different feel.”

Leave a Reply

