Manulife Financial LPGA Classic. Inbee Park Prevails.

dragon logo dark

 

 

ManulifeFinancialLPGAClassic_188x84

 

Inbee Park prevails at the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic, shooting a fantastic 61 in the final round at Grey Silo Golf Course in Canada to win the trophy.

Inbee Park

Inbee Park / Getty Images

Inbee shot a fantastic final bogey free round of -10 under par 61 to lift the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic trophy with tournament total of -23 under par.

Inbee reported that the winning feeling never gets old, and she is really motivated to get that Number one slot back again;

“It never gets old. Obviously, my last win on the LPGA Tour was last year about this time a year ago and it sure felt longer than a year. I came really close a few times, but I couldn’t hold the trophy for last year, so just really happy that I finally got that down.”

“Seems like today, you know, I put my putter behind the ball and it just went in the hole. It’s just one of those days where I don’t really need to try hard to make it go in.”

“You think I’m motivated now?  I think definitely I really kick started maybe the last week. Gave me some kind of motivation to go lower and harder on myself. Just, you know, I played great golf, just not enough. It was actually good motivation that I had last week and even though I didn’t get to keep that spot, it’s fine.  I feel like I’m playing better golf and I’ve got a lot of confidence from this week.”

“The putter is definitely the key. I’ve been hitting the ball consistently all year, just my putter’s just not been wanting to do its job. This week obviously it did its job.”

Cristie Kerr was in second place, three shots behind at -20 under par, she carded a last round -8 under par 63, and could not believe she still so far off the lead;

“I never looked at the scoreboard until I came off 17, you know, with a reachable par five to see where I was, and I was three back and I was stunned because I was 7 under for the day, you’d think you’d be close.”

 “Last two days, the last two days, I mean, I guess that second round where I shot 2‑under kind of hurt me, but this kind of golf course you’ve got to have four really stellar days and I had three really stellar days.  There’s only one winner so I have to be pleased with my performance.”  

Shanshan Feng was third placed finisher with a -18 under par total, she had a modest -3 under par 68 today and could not keep up with the low scoring of the two leaders. Lydia Ko and Belen Mozo were tied in fourth, at -16 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

