Travelers Championship. Ryan Wants More Chips.

dragon logo darkTravelers Championship Logo

Ryan Moore chipped in for Eagle as he ascended the leaderboard at the Travelers Championship.

Ryan Moore carded a 66 to take a one-shot lead on Saturday. (Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Ryan Moore / Getty Images

Ryan carded a third round -4 under par, which included a chip in for eagle at the par five 6th hole. He now sits atop the Travelers Championship leaderboard at -13 under par, a one shot lead. He reported that he likes the grass here, and is used to chipping well on it;

“It’s just funny how weeks go. This is the type of grass and everything I grew up on, and I think I’m comfortable with chipping and the putting aspects on this golf course and I think that’s where the success comes from.”

“Today was a great examples of ‘It doesn’t have to be pretty’ to shoot a great golf score. I honestly didn’t feel great all day hitting the ball, but drove it well enough to kind of keep myself out of trouble.”

“I generally don’t tend to over practice here in general, but I’ve even cut back a little bit, I think it’s good. I’ve kind of showed up every day with a good focus and just ready to go play golf.”

“This is a tournament I really want to win and I know it’s a tournament I can win.”

Ozzie Aaron Baddeley is in second place at -12 under par for the tournament, he thinks it is possible to birdie every hole here;

“Around here you feel like you should birdie every hole. There are a lot of birdie holes out there.” 

Sergio Garcia, K.J. Choi, Scott Langley and Michael Putnam are all tied for third position at -11 under par.

Sergio is enjoying his golf, but not the exit of Spain from the World Cup in Brasil;

“It’s been a solid season so far, there’s no question I’d like to have played better at the Masters and last week at the US Open.”

“We’ve had such great six years with two European Cups and one World Cup. I wasn’t expecting for the team to not get through the group stages, but I thought the season was getting very long,  maybe they get to the quarterfinals, semifinals, they would play very well. But it’s different out there in South America for the European teams, so it was a little disappointing on that aspect. But there’s nothing that I can do.”

Sergio Garcia / Getty Images

 

Leave a Reply

