Ladies Italian Open. Whitney Hillier Leads.

dragon logo darkLadies Italian Open presented by Ruco Line Whitney Hillier leads the Ladies Italian Open.

Making birdie from the bunker will make you laugh, Whitney Hillier / Getty Images

Aussie Whitney Hillier fired an opening round of -6 under par 66 to lead the Ladies Italian Open by one shot at the Perugia Golf Course. This is Whitney’s first ever lead on the Ladies European Tour, apparently playing in temperatures of 28C made her feel right at home;

 “I felt right in my element today because Perth’s nice and hot and today was perfect out there. We’ve been very lucky with the weather. It was a great start. I’ve just changed coach and changed my swing a little bit. I felt really good out there. I didn’t put any pressure on myself and free flowed and it was good fun.”

“I chipped in from the bunker on eight. I wasn’t too worried about that because I love those little flop shots. A minute before I said, ‘I’m going to hole it,’ and I did. I kept it pretty solid all day. 15 greens and 27 putts. It felt really good and consistent today so the hard work is paying off.”

Second place is held by Rebecca Hudson, at -5 under par after first round score of 67. She said she had played sensibly when it was best to;

I played very well, had the ball under control and there are some holes out there which you can attack and I did and I played sensibly when I needed to.”

 

“I’m very pleased as I had no bogeys. I played sensible and I think the US Open last week taught me a lesson in playing sensible. There are some good attacking holes out here so I took my chances, and when I needed to be sensible I was. “

“The 18th green, I think I only missed two greens in regulation, I had to run up the bank and it was very ‘a la Pinehurst’ so it was good and I learned a lot last week which I’ve brought forward this week.”

Rebecca Hudson / Getty Images

The chasing pack are at at -3 under par, they are  Diana Luna, Holly Clyburn, Floerntyna Parker, Amy Boulden, Ann-Kathrin Lindner and Nicole Broch Larsen.

Italian Diana Luna enjoyed playing for a home gallery and after her round of 69 said;

“It was a very solid start. I’m pleased with the way I’ve been playing today and looking forward to a nice weekend.”

 

Leave a Reply

