Quicken Loans National. Patrick Reed Takes the Lead

dragon logo darkQuicken Loans National

Patrick Reed takes the lead in the Quicken Loans National at Congressional.      Patrick Reed is looking to win his third PGA TOUR event in 2014. (Jeff Haynes/Getty Images)

Patrick Reed / Getty Images

Patrick has opened up a two shot lead at the top of the Quicken Loans National, posting a third round of even par to stay at -6 under par for the tournament. He admitted that Congressional had shown it’s teeth today;

What do you expect, Congressional, it definitely showed its teeth today, I mean, I spent most of my time in the rough.  I just feel like I’m in a good pattern with my golf swing. I’m confident in what we’re doing and what we’re working on, and I feel like I’m really staying in the moment and not getting ahead of myself and not moving too fast.”

“You can’t get ahead of yourself, if you think about having the lead, or if you think about what you’re going to do coming down 18, you’re going to lose focus on the rest of the holes. I’m just going to go on the same mindset I had all week and basically, always, one shot at a time.”

Three players are tied in third place, at -4 under par, Seung-Yul Noh who posted the low round of the day at -5 under par 66, Freddie Jacobson and Marc Leishman.

Justin Rose is three shots back after his even round, which could have been better;

“Bad shots, you couldn’t get away with much out there, as we saw, our leaders didn’t do much this afternoon. I really enjoy this kind of golf course, I love this kind of golf where eight or 10 under is probably going to win.”

 If you play well the way I did Friday you’ll get rewarded. If you make a mistake, you’ll probably pay for it. The best thing you can do is accept the mistake and move on.”

“It’s not like this is the first chance I’ve had for a while. I know I’ll have a chance in the near future again, too. I know that if I’m playing well, I’ll create plenty of chances. I feel like my season is only really beginning to get going. I feel comfortable with my game for the first time so I’m not putting too much pressure on myself”

 

Leave a Reply

