Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Wonderful Wie Leads,

dragon logo dark

Wonderful Michelle Wie leads the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship.

Michelle Wie / Getty Images

Michelle carded a -5 under par 66 in the second round of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship, to lead the tournament by two shots at -10 under par, in the second round of this three round competition;

“It’s kind of my goal for the entire year to be consistent.  That’s my main goal, to be consistent for the entire year and just try and get better every week. I feel like I’ve been achieving it so far, and I just want to keep improving.”

“I definitely am tired, I just want to kind of get through tomorrow. I can’t predict the score, but I’m just going to go out there and try to do the same thing I did today, just attack the holes that I can attack and try to make some putts and try to make a lot of birdies,” 

Se Yeon Ryu is in second place at -8 under par for the competition, Se Yeon lost in a sudden death play-off last year against Inbee Park

“I just lost in the playoff, but still finish second is nice memory, a good memory. I remember two years ago also I finished tied 10 or something. So it feels like this golf course pretty suited for me, so I’m ready to go low tomorrow.”

 Suzann Pettersen Chella Choi  and Line Vedel are tied in third place at -7 under par.

World number one Stacy Lewis scored a -5 under par 66 second round, and is in a group of ladies at -6 under par. She reported that she took out some frustration on the range at Pinnacle Country Club, and it certainly paid off;

“That’s what I do best, I don’t like playing two bad rounds in a row. If I play a bad round it’s okay, but you just can’t let it happen again. So that’s why last night I spent some time out there. It was a long night, but I felt a lot more confident coming into today.”

“Michelle’s obviously playing some really good golf, I’m going to have to shoot a good number tomorrow. This golf course always leads to a little bit of a shootout. At least I put a good number up today and we’ll see what happens tomorrow.”

  

2 thoughts on “Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Wonderful Wie Leads,

  1. Pete, good to see Wie playing to her potential. I was afraid her parents might have ruined her for good early in her career with all those boneheaded stunts to gain notoriety. Hope she keeps it up and wins this one.

    Thanks,

    Brian

Leave a Reply

