BMW International Open. Fab Zanotti’s Maiden Victory.

dragon logo dark

Fabrizio Zanotti collected his maiden European Tour victory at the BMW International Open, the first Paraguayan to achieve that feat.

Fabrizio Zanotti - BMW International Open Champion ()

Fabrizio Zanotti / Getty Images

Fab won a four man play off at the BMW International Open at Golf Club Gut Lärchenhof, for his first ever win on Tour.
It came at the fifth play off hole, and it secured a memorable success for him, after World Number Two Henrik Stenson had sent his tee shot into the water, after the others had earlier fallen by the way-side.

He had recorded the best round out of the four players to reach the play off, carding a flawless -7 under par 65 for the second successive day, to reach the top at -19 under par.

Fab said that after a lot of hard work, he had finally arrived;

“I was patient. I tried to play shot by shot in the play off. I’m just very happy. I knew today that if I made a good run I’d have a good chance. Today was my day.”

“This is huge. I think everybody in Paraguay is going to be so happy, everybody in Paraguay was awaiting this moment, like me. I’ve been working a lot and trying to build my confidence to get to this moment and finally I’m here.”

“I was just trying to enjoy the moment, shot by shot, then when I got to the playoff, it was very up and down for the first one. Then in the second I got a good birdie after Henrik. Then I started thinking, maybe today is my day.”

Pablo Larrazábal and Gregory Havret were the other two players who had finished on that -19 under par total, Pablo could only manage a final round of even par 72.

Jamie Donaldson, Simon Dyson and Thongchai Jaidee all finished a stroke behind the leaders. at -18 under par. The shot of the day went to Englishman James Heath. He carded an Ace at the 194 yard par three 16th, and took possession of a brand new  a BMW i8, and admitted;

“It more than triples the highest cheque I’ve ever made. It looks fantastic. It’s certainly an upgrade from my previous vehicle.”

Well done James, I am a BMW man myself, and need a new one, but I will have to pay for mine.

 

Leave a Reply

