Wegmans LPGA Championship. Lincicome Still Leads.

White Dragon GolfWegmans LPGA Championship

Brittany Lincicome still leads the Wegmans LPGA Championship at the 54 hole stage at Monroe Golf Club in New York.

 

Wegmans LPGA Championship

Brittany Lincicome / Getty Images

Brittany could only manage a -1 under par 71 third round, but it was still enough to keep her lead going into the final round of the Wegmans LPGA Championship in New York. She told reporters about the state of her nerves;

“Nervous was probably an understatement, my stomach was in knots. When it came time to eat lunch, it just wasn’t happening because I haven’t been in this position in a while.”

“I think because I haven’t been in this position in a while, it just kind of all caught up with me, just tried to take multiple deep breaths out there.  I don’t think I calmed down until really the back nine probably. “

“Hopefully going into tomorrow it’s kind of out of my system, I kind of know what it feels like to kind of be in this position and I will kind of dominate again.”

Brittany is a shot ahead of Inbee Park  and Suzann Pettersen. Suzann carded a -5 under par 67 and Inbee shot -3 under par 69 for both of them to be at -9 under par for the tournament.

Suzann mentioned her liking for the back nine here at Monroe Golf Club;

“I seem to like the back nine. I like what I see, I managed to make a move. It’s nice to make a charge. I actually could have had a couple more.”

“I made the turn a bit frustrated that I three putted nine. I actually got to the green and three putted, which felt like I was giving away a shot. But I managed to kind of make a move, and the game responded pretty good.”

” Then I actually thought I could have had a couple more out there.  Had a couple of great looks.  So it’s nice to make a charge and kind of be where I’m at right now.”

Inbee admitted to hitting a couple of bad shots, and is hoping for a better result tomorrow;

“I hit a couple of bad shots and kind of scrambled around today. I mean I still feel like I definitely left a couple out there today, but number 17 and 18, you know, dropping those putts really helped me for tomorrow. Three back is quite a bit different.  So I’m happy where I am right now, and yeah, we’ll see tomorrow.”

Mirim Lee is two shots further back at -7 under par, and is in fourth position while Lydia Ko is back T5 at -6 under par.

Lydia made a slow start today

“I didn’t start off very well.  I made a bogey on the second hole, and then I came back with a good birdie on 3, but then made a bogey on 8 and I was suddenly at one over par for the Front 9.  Bogeyed 10.”
           
“But I kind of grinded it out, made two birdies in a row and then made another bogey, then made another birdie.  So it was kind of a birdie‑bogey day, but I’m pretty happy that I finished 1‑under.”

 

2 thoughts on “Wegmans LPGA Championship. Lincicome Still Leads.

Leave a Reply

