Deutsche Bank Championship. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfDeutsche Bank Championship

Jason Day and Ryan Palmer are tied together at the top of the Deutsche Bank Championship at TPC Boston.

Deutsche Bank Championship  Deutsche Bank Championship

Ryan Palmer and Jason Day both posted tournament totals of -8 under par at the Deutsche Bank Championship.

Ryan carded an even par second round of 71, while Jason made up ground with his -3 under par 68. Jason has a chance to win for a second straight week, taking the least putts of anyone in the field, needing  just 47, including 25 in the second round.

He mentioned the times he has been in a good position, and how he is now comfortable with being there, finishing second last week;

” The times I put myself there, the better I feel and the more comfortable I feel playing in final groups. I’m just going to keep trying to do the work, stay aggressive to my targets.”

“You get yourself above the trees, it can be very difficult to judge how much wind there is, and if you get too far below the trees, it doesn’t get hit by the wind at all. It played tough today. I played good on the front nine, played kind of average on the back nine. But I got it in.”

Ryan spoke about the Ryder Cup spots, and how happy he was to finish the round at even par;

“I don’t think we ever had this many guys trying to get three spots. I think there’s five or six guys he’s looking at, or whatever it is. Hopefully, I’ll be there standing, I don’t know.”

‘It could have gone the other way real quick, I was glad to get that last birdie on 18 and salvage even par.”

“I just struggled hitting some crisp iron shots. I had a lot of good putts, a lot of good saves, some good long birdie putts. But it was a grind today. I didn’t have it all. But I fought hard and stayed patient. And I was able to get in at even par.”

Tied in third place are Matt Kuchar and Billy Horschel, just one shot back of the leaders at -7 under par for the tournament.

Matt’s round  featured six consecutive birdies around the turn, but his thoughts are concentrated on his caddie Lance Bennett, whose wife, Angela, died of a seizure Wednesday. All players were offered a chance to donate to a trust fund for the 4-year-old daughter of  his caddie. Matt decided to play to raise awareness and get the tour involved in helping the family.

‘You never know how things will work out in the game of golf, but it felt like there’s some fate working, as well. The funeral is coming up and some things that will be difficult. But right now, I feel like there’s some inspiration and some fate working.”

Phil Mickelson, Luke Donald, Ian Poulter, Ernie Els and Bubba Watson all made the cut, which had been set at +3 over par.

 

2 thoughts on “Deutsche Bank Championship. Two Tied at the Top.

Leave a Reply

