Talisker Australian Open. Great Scott Eases Past Poor Poults Performance

Golf Australia     

Adam Scott played a great last round to ease past a poor performance from Poults at the Talisker Australian Open at the Kingston Heath Golf Club on Sunday.  Adams final round of  -5 under-par 67 gave him a four shot win over defending champion Ian Poulter. Adam described the week as perfectly satisfactory;

Satisfaction is the perfect word to describe this week, it is probably the only tournament of the year maybe one other where I have put four solid rounds together. It was great to be part of it. The golf Ian and I played over the past two days was the highest standard of golf there is. I can’t tell you how good it was. My swing was good all week but today it was very good. I just tried to play instinctive golf. I took my chances on the front 9 and then just tried to hang on on the back nine.”


Adam Scott / Bruce Young/Iseekgolf.com

Ian Poulter made too many mistakes today, the beaten defending champion was disappointed with his performance, but complimentary of Adam’s solid round;

“It has been a great week, I am disappointed because I led into the final round and haven’t won but it has been a great week. Adam played very solid and forced me into a couple of mistakes. I made a fateful error on the 17th  {he missed a putt form two feet} when I was standing over Adam’s line but he played a lovely round of five under”

I said yesterday that the winner from these two would be the one who made the least mistakes, Ian Poulter made bogey on two par fives, for a man of his caliber that is not a mistake, it is criminal negligence.

New Zealander’s Mark Brown and Gareth Paddison tied for third place, eight shots behind Adam Scott’s winning score.


Leave a Reply

