Humana Golf Challenge. Patrick Prevails, Just.

dragon logo dark

Patrick Reed prevails at the Humana Challenge with a lack luster final round at PGA West’s Arnold Palmer Private Course, eventually winning by two shots.

Finishing what he started

Patrick Reed / Getty Images

Patrick suddenly lost his putting touch for a few hours in the final round, but then found it again just when things were getting interesting. He followed his three rounds of -9 under par with a last round -1 under par 71, for a tournament total of -28 under par;

“It was tough out there, I started toward the end playing for par, just because I knew pars weren’t going to hurt me. I knew someone was going to have to do something spectacular to catch me. To come out and not have my full game and to have that much of a cushion to be able to just coast in, that’s a good feeling. But Sundays are always a little harder, as everyone knows, and also the flags are a little tougher. I just tried to stick to the game plan, tried to post a decent number.”

Ryan Palmer was the man closest to him, shooting a last round of -9 under par 63, finishing up with a -26 under par total.

Ryan was amazed at how well Patrick played this week;

“What can you do with what Patrick did this week, it’s ridiculous what he did. Amazing how good he played. We’ll come up a couple short, but it was a win in my game because I was playing for second today. 

Zach Johnson and Justin Leonard finished in a tie for third place at -25 under par. Zach birdied the final five holes for a magnificent -10 under par 62, the best round of the week. Justin parred his last two holes for a -7 under par 65.

Zach was very  happy with his last round effort, and also spoke about him taking a four-week break. He’ll return for the Accenture Match Play Championship in Arizona;

“I got red-hot at the end, I played really good early, missed a couple putts, but I made a bunch at the end. I know it’s a necessity, I know it’s good for me, it’s good for my family, but I’m also hesitant because I’m playing well. Hopefully, I can maintain where I’m at. Maintain my posture and my fundamentals, and that sort of thing, and come back out here in Tucson ready to go.”

Justin said he was just having a fun time, with his cut backed schedule;

“It’s a great week, would love to have made a few more putts today, but it’s such a fun journey. I’m cutting my schedule back this year and all this does is kind of free me up to do that.”

There will not be too many times when you can win after seeing your lead cut by five shots, but credit must go to Patrick for the three -9 under par rounds he put together.

Leave a Reply

