LPGA. JTBC Founders Cup. Lydia Leads.

dragon logo dark

Lydia Ko leads the JTBC Founders Cup at the Wildfire Golf Club in Arizona on the LPGA Tour.

Lydia Ko

Lydia Ko / Getty Images

Lydia shot a third round of -5 under par 67 to lead the tournament on -16 under par, for the three round total at Wildfire Golf Club. She said that there would be some nerves tomorrow, but she will try to control them to perform well;

“Obviously there’s going to be some nerves, of course, it’s always there any time. But it’s great that you’ve got a one‑shot lead. I’ve just got to take the positive out of it and I’m just going to play my own game, if somebody goes crazy low like shooting 10 under, 9 under or whatever, it’s not something I can control. So I’m going to control to the most what I can do.”

Mirim Lee and Jessica Korda are tied in second place at -15 under par, just one shot back in this closely contested event.

Jessica likes the way the course is playing;

 ” You know, the golf course is just set up so beautifully, so as long as you hit fairways and greens, you’re just fine.  The greens, certain greens are faster than others, depending on if you’re downgrain or into the grain.  Golf course is just beautiful, so it’s a pleasure to play. But the greens are a little bit bouncier in the afternoon and you can kind of see where people have walked and some donuts around the holes.  But in the morning, it must have been really nice.  But yeah, definitely was a little bit more aggressive, but kind of take whatever you can get out here.” 

Sun Young Yoo has slipped back to fourth position, at -14 under par following her third round -4 under par 68.

Michelle Weiis in the group of five ladies at -13 under par, and is excited to be there, in contention.

” I came out the afternoon looking at the leaderboard and saw a lot of 9 unders, a lot of 8 unders and was kind of like, I have to get moving today.  Just one of those days I couldn’t get anything to the hole but scrimmaged and shot 5‑under and really happy to be in the position that I am right now and I’m just really excited for tomorrow.”

“I’m just so excited to be in this position, that I have a chance, it’s just fun being in contention. So, I’m just going to make the most of it tomorrow and go out there and enjoy myself.”

Defending champion Stacy Lewis is in familiar territory, she is four shots back of the lead, exactly where she was last year when she came through to win. But Stacy was disappointed with today’s performance;

”  It would be awesome to win here again.  I’ve said over and over again, this is my favorite tournament and I love the concept of the entire event.   Just to win here, having the founders here, to win in front of them, it means a lot.  Pretty disappointing, I left a ton of shots out there today.  Just the greens were a bit softer and I just didn’t quite adjust to it.  Speed was a little bit different, and just didn’t make the adjustments. I needed something today.”

” Just watching the leaderboard, watching the scores early, I knew I needed a low one just to get close to the lead.  But you know, anything can happen.  I’m going to go try to make as many birdies as I can but I would have liked to have got a little bit closer today.”

Certainly anything can still happen in this tournament, low round today went to Cristie Kerr, -9 under par 63. Cristie said a slight putting change made all the difference, and some new irons;

” Honestly I kind of changed up my putting routine a little bit. I switched to PING irons this week.  I had been playing with PING wedges since the beginning of the year and everything is just so much more consistent.  Even the misses on the irons are just so much better.  I had a chip‑in today on a very difficult chip on twelve, down the left slope, I chipped in.  I was close to chipping it in all week so ironic that it’s on the most difficult one, that’s me for you.”

Cristie is five behind the leader, but another low round tomorrow and who know’s.

Leave a Reply

