U.S. Womens Open, Stacy Leads Suspended 1st Round.

dragon logo dark Stacy Lewis leads the 1st round of the suspended U.S. Womens Open at Pinehurst #2.

Stacy Lewis / Getty Images

Stacy shot a completed first round of -3 under par 67 at Pinehurst #2 to lead the U.S. Womens Open by just one shot. She reported that it had been an easy day, not something some of the men said last week;

“I’m very happy, it was such an easy day. I played really, really solid, other than I had to make a few par putts, I ran some putts by, got them above the hole. But other than that I didn’t put myself in too bad of spots and made a few birdies, which was nice.”

“I liked watching the men’s last week because I think I played a lot, I like to hit a cut a lot like Kaymer does. So on a lot of those holes, it was cool to see the plan I had laid out in my head, he was kind of doing the same thing. So it was nice coming into the week, knowing that my plan was going to work on this golf course.”

“I thought that somebody like the guys, somebody can run away with this. If you’re hitting the ball well enough, you can definitely run away with it. At the same time you have to know par is a good number and keep grinding away.”

Michelle Wie is in second place, she has also finished her opening round and carded a -2 under par 68. She was happy to take anything under par;

“You know, I’ll take it, any round under par, I’ll take it. It was a grind out there today. It will probably be a grind the next three days, but I’ll take it.”

Three ladies are tied in third place, all with completed rounds of -1 under par 69. Minjee Lee, So Yeon Ryu and Katherine Kirk are sitting comfortably together.

Play has been suspended due to bad weather, with the last three groups having some golf to play before the second round. The eleven-year-old  Lucy Li finished with a +8 over par 78 and is in a tie for 111th, what a great performance.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.