Ladies German Open. Kylie Wins, In A Playoff.

dragon logo darkLadies German Open presented by Marriott

Kylie Walker won the Ladies German Open, in a play-off against Charley Hull.

Victorious Kylie Walker / Getty Images

After creating a new record of three rounds at -8 under par 64, Kylie could only manage a final round of -1 under par 71, which gave her a tournament total of -25 under par. She won with a par on the first extra hole;

“It was pretty nerve-wracking. Charley played brilliantly today because it was slightly tougher conditions as well. I wasn’t quite playing as well as I have done the rest of the week but I’m delighted to have hung in there today and get the win. “

“I was hoping not for a play-off, I was trying to win it in regulation play but it didn’t happen and Charley made a great birdie on 17 to tie for the lead. I was delighted in the play-off that I made a solid par and managed to get it. I’m delighted. I’m just living the dream at the moment. I’m really happy and enjoying my golf.”

Charley Hull, who had two rounds herself of -8 under par finished with a bogey free last round of -7 under par 65, to catch Kylie at the top on -25 under par. An errant tee shot on the first play-off hole was her undoing;

“I just blocked my tee shot on the last which was annoying but I hit a good shot in and a good putt. I’m quite happy. It’s been a long three weeks and I’m a bit tired now because I’ve been in contention all three weeks and especially with a major in the middle of it. To finish it off with a second place is not too bad.”

“I’m looking forward to my next competitions after I have a week or so off because I feel like my game is in really good condition. I’ll keep doing what I’m doing. It’s a shame because in regulation play on 18 I hit my drive 305 yards, so it’s a shame for me to push it a little bit in my play-off hole.”

Defending  Ladies German Open champion Carlota Ciganda fired in a tournament low round -9 under par 63,  to finish in solo third place on -23 under-par.

“I’ve been playing really good the whole day. I starting hitting great shots and not making putts but I tried to stay patient and I made an eagle on 12 and then on 14 I hit the hole and the ball ended 10 metres away. Then I finished with two birdies in the last four so I’m very happy with that.”

It’s really nice to play once in a while in Europe because you come from the States and the courses here are a bit easier, shorter, and the confidence goes up. I’m really happy with the way I played this week. I love Europe and everything I can do to support I’ll always do.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.