Sony Open. Three Way Tie at the Top

White Dragon GolfSony Open in Hawaii

There is a three-way tie at the top of the Sony Open in Hawaii at the half way stage of the competition.

Sony Open in Hawaii

Webb Simpson / Getty Images

Webb Simpson, Matt Kuchar and Justin Thomas all share the half way lead at the Sony Open with -12 under par totals.

Rookie Justin carded the round of the day, -9 under par 61 to put himself in contention for this title, he said he was definitely in the zone;

“It was probably the best zone and best focus I’ve ever been in.”

“I knew I was playing well, but I really didn’t know how many under I was for the day, and I just kind of kept playing.”

“It doesn’t happen very often in golf, and it’s really fun to happen. It’s probably maybe only the second time it’s ever happened to me.”

Webb revealed that he had broken his old belly putter over his knee, to remove all temptation, he shot -4 under par 66 today;

“The broken belly putter is in my trophy case at home. It’s on top, I can’t use it. I could use it; it would be a short putter.”

“I’m a big believer in not changing something that’s not broken. So I felt myself kind of backing out, in front of my wife, I snapped it over my knee, and I was going to throw it away, but she said, `No, no, we’ve got to keep it. You’ve done a lot of good stuff with that.”

“I put a lot of work in, and I didn’t have much expectation coming here to be honest with you.”

“It was just a matter this week of wanting to get comfortable on the greens. That was the goal. I didn’t really care how I played this week. So to be in the lead is a huge bonus.”

Matt did not realize that Webb had changed putters until the first green;

“He made about a 6- or 7-footer for birdie and I said, Holy cow, mark the time and date. Webb Simpson used a short putter and actually made it look pretty good.”

“Yesterday was a beautiful day of putting, and I joked with him that the USGA might have to rethink banning the long putter because he’s putting even better with a short putter. He didn’t miss a single putt that he should have made in two days. It was a very, very good effort.”

Tied in fourth place are Tim Clark and Troy Merrit, at -10 under par for the competition. By way of contrast Tim Clark is going to use the long putter until the last minute, before the anchoring ban comes into force.

16-year-old Kyle Suppa, is a high school golfer that attends the same high school that President Obama and Michelle Wie both graduated from.  Kyle fired his second consecutive -1 under par 69 Friday to make the cut on the number, -2 under par.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.