Humana Challenge. Matt Kuchar Has 2nd Day Lead.

White Dragon GolfHumana Challenge

Matt Kuchar leads after the 2nd day of the Humana Challenge.

Humana Challenge

Matt Kuchar / Getty Images

Matt shot a second round -8 under par 64 on the Nicklaus course to lead the Humana Challenge on day two with a -15 under par total for the three course competition. All the players must learn the three different courses, all of which yield bunches of birdies, so there is no room to complacently jog along making pars. Matt is aware of that fact, he made a birdie on five of his first seven holes Friday ;

“It’s best not to think about it, you need to keep it going.”

“You know coming to the Humana Challenge that it’s going to take a lot of birdies.”

“I’ve been feeling good, the game feels solid. I feel like I know where it’s going, feel like I’m hitting it in the center of the club face. I’m really pleased.”

“I think everybody is really enjoying their time here.”

Michael Putnam and Bill Hass share second place at -14 under par, Bill with a -9 under par 63 at La Quinta,  after making nine birdies in a 10-hole stretch, he has had some family help;

“Nine out of 10 holes, certainly you’re not going to do that many times.”

“Usually if it’s going to happen, it’s going to happen here in the desert. So that’s why we all like coming here. It’s a great way to start the year.”

“My dad and Bill Harmon, they’re both working with me, trying to get me straight.”

“We hit balls in the morning and then go play and be done by 1 o’clock. It’s just fun for me to play with my dad, and to play with any of the Harmons, especially Billy, and to get their expertise, certainly helps.”

Justin Thomas, Nick Watney and Scott Pinckney are tied in third place at -13 under par for the competition.

Low round of the day went to Ryan Palmer, -11 under par 61 on the Nicklaus course, and the magic 59 could have been achieved, he carded two bogeys in the round. He is currently in a tie for 7th place at -12 under par;

“I was swinging so good today, I didn’t make anything long, except for the eagle on 16.”

“I made a great putt on 17, but other than that it was just hitting it close and making a lot putts inside 10 feet.”

“But walking off ten, after I got to ten under, I was staying calm, trying not to think about anything, just trying to keep my momentum going, my pace with my walk. It’s hard not to think about it.”

 

Matt Kuchar in control after 36 holes at Humana Challenge

 

 

Leave a Reply

