Pure Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic. Rookie Sei Young Kim Wins.

White Dragon Golf LPGA

Sei Young Kim wins the weather affected Pure Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic, her first LPGA Tour victory, in three-way play-off.

Pure Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic

Sei Young Kim / Getty Images

Sei Young KimSun Young Yoo and Ariya Jutanugarn tied at the top of the Pure Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic leaderboard with totals of -14 under par.

Sei won on the first sudden death extra hole, with a birdie. She becomes the first Rolex First-Time Winner of the season and adds the victory to her five career KLPGA wins. She posted a final round -5 under par 68, one of the best rounds of the day, and said she was very happy, this was all she had dreamt of for a long time;

“It’s definitely a dream, I’m really happy. Since 10 years ago it’s what I’ve dreamed of.”

“Just before the last putt I was super nervous, but I was fine.”

“I joined the LPGA in hopes of making the Korean Olympics team, and this is one step towards that, so this means a lot to me.”

“I feel really great, I was really nervous. I just focused on my game. I can’t find the words. Just crying.”

Brittany Lincicome finished on -13 under par, while Danielle Kang and Inbee Park were another shot back on -12 under par.

Inbee did not finish high enough to unseat Lydia Ko from World Number One Ranking. Lydia equaled the low round of the day, -5 under par 68, which elevated her up the leaderboard for a tie for 7th spot;

“I wasn’t really thinking about it all week.”

“It was great to have the starter say, from New Zealand, Rolex ranking No. 1, and that was really great.”

“I think it’s only going to last for this week, but Inbee has played great and so have other girls. All I could do the last two days was just try my best and try and shoot a good score today.”

Leave a Reply

