Trophee Hassan 11. Four-Way Tie at the Top

White Dragon Golf

There is a four-way tie at the top in the Trophee Hassan 11 at the Golf du Palais Royal course in Morocco.

Trophee Hassan 11

Richie Ramsay / Getty Images

Richie Ramsay had a second round -6 under par 66 to join Richard Green, Rafael Cabrera-Bello and Oliver Farr at the top of the Trophee Hassan 11 leaderboard on that score.

Richie has missed a few cuts recently and is happy to be playing some good golf;

“The last few months have been frustrating.”

“You just want to go out and play and I’ve had a few niggling injuries. I’ve just tried to stick to my guns and make sure I stretch and have a good practice routine.”

“That builds up and slowly but surely it comes around and today was the day it happened. Hopefully it can stay for the weekend.”

Oliver came through the Challenge Tour at the first attempt last year, but has had a challenging start to the European Tour;

“It’s my first time here and it is absolutely fantastic to play in the King’s garden, it’s spectacular, that’s all I can say,” 

“This year has been great; each week there are new challenges. Dealing with everything is tricky but I’m enjoying it.” 

“Being in a share of the lead is great. It’s what we prepare for and practice for. We are only halfway through but hopefully I can be there on Sunday.”

Rafael had recently broken a toe, and had been wearing tennis shoes on the course, today was the first time out back in his golf shoes;

“I broke my pinkie toe on my right foot, not even a funny story, just banging it on a table.”

“I had to play in Puerto Rico in tennis shoes and could barely tie them. I then managed to get some really wide, and big shoes to wear in Tampa, and today’s the first day it has been OK to wear the proper golf shoes.”

“I’m pleased it didn’t bother me too much.”

Richard had taken a break from golf since his last appearance, which was in Thailand;

“I had a bit of break since Thailand and have not played a lot of golf.”

“I got myself ready for this week and to find myself six under after two rounds is great.” 

“I was pretty happy with the form in Thailand and the tournaments leading up to that. I’ve still got the same swing thoughts and mental thoughts, so it has carried on this week.”

Marcel Siem and Alexander Levy may have seen their Masters hopes vanish, poor second rounds have dashed their hopes of a Trans-Atlantic flight to the States.

 

Leave a Reply

