Made in Denmark. Horsey Gallops to Win

White Dragon Golf

David Horsey gallops to win at the  Made in Denmark tournament at Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort in a wire to wire win.

Made in Denmark

David Horsey / Getty Images

David did not have the best of final rounds at Made in Denmark,  a +2 over par 73, but his total of -13 under par gave him a two shot victory, in the windy conditions.

He admitted he made hard work of it, but explained it was hard to stay focused with a lot of standing around and waiting on the back nine;

“It’s a kick-start really, I’ve been playing well for quite a few months now and not really been getting any results and not scoring particularly well so to come out with a bit more strategy and a bit more focus this week has paid off.”

“It was a bit of a strange week. I’ve been focusing on myself and not trying to get caught up in the tournament and I managed to do that so well it’s nearly a bit of surprise”

“I was a little bit disappointed with myself on 16, but managed to regroup and focus coming down those last couple of holes.”

“I left myself a very tough putt on 17  but to par the last as well was perfect.”

“The last couple of holes there was a lot of waiting around it and it started to then become a reality so very, very pleased. I made hard work of it but I got over the line at the end.”

The chasing pack of four players all finished tied in second place at -11 under par, the best of those was Kristoffer Broberg, carding a bogey free new course record of -9 under par 62, and Daniel Gaunt, a -5 under 66. The other two were just cantering along, keeping the home crowd happy was the leading DaneSøren Kjeldsen, he was joined by Terry Pilkadaris to complete the foursome.

Terry was disappointed with his last round effort;

“I’m disappointed, I bogeyed 14 and doubled 15 so I couldn’t keep the pressure on. I had a half chance on the 18th with an 18-footer but just pushed it right. That’s the way golf goes.”

“The wind was really up today. From the seventh onwards it was a two to three club breeze. I paid the penalty on eight, and again on 15 when I had a flier out of the rough.”

“That’s golf. I was just missing the fairway today and then you’re struggling from there with the lies in the rough. If I’d driven it better I would’ve had a better chance.”

“It was a fun tussle with David. Credit to him for closing it out. He gave us hope on 16 by missing that short putt but I didn’t put the pressure on down 17 and 18 as I would’ve liked.”

“It’s my best ET finish, but there’s a lot of disappointment from today.”

“I know the game’s there so I’ll keep plugging away.”

Another Dane,  Mads Søgaard, also kept the home crowd interested,  he finished T6 at -10 under, along with Paul Lawrie Bradley Dredge and Richard Green.

This event is hugely popular in Denmark, and each year the crowds grow bigger as the locals turn out to cheer on their hero’s.

Leave a Reply

