Wyndham Championship. Davis Delights Wyndham Crowd With a Win

White Dragon GolfWyndham Championship

Davis Love 111 delights the Wyndham Championship crowd with his third win at the event at Sedgefield Country Club.

Wyndham Championship

Davis Love 111 / Getty Images

Davis shot a final round -6 under par 64 for a winning total of -17 under par at the Wyndham Championship, and a one shot victory, at the tender age of 51.

Davis enjoyed his victory, and getting his name on the oldest winners list, alongside the likes of Sam Snead. Davis stated that when he putts well he can win on any Tour;

“Any victory now is going to be really sweet when you’re over 50.”

“You don’t really know what to do, you don’t go to the cabin and think that you’ve won.”

“To have your name thrown out there with Sam Snead at any point is incredible.”

 “For some reason, this tournament has been good to guys in my age group.”

“I’ve been saying all year, people ask me about the Champions Tour. If I putt well on the Champions Tour I can win on the PGA Tour.”

 “I did it this week. My ball-striking is fine. It’s just as you’ve seen over the years. When I putt well I get a chance to win. I putted really well this week.”

Jason Gore finished in second place at -16 under par, a couple of sad bogey’s on the back nine halting his progress, although an Eagle at 15 did give him some hope.

Tied in third position were, Charl Schwartzel, Paul Casey and Scott Brown, all at -15 under par for the championship.

Tiger Woods could not produce a fourth round in the sixties, he slumped to a final round of even par 70, and in so doing did not qualify for theFedExCup

Tiger said that he gave himself a chance, but did not take it;

“I gave myself a chance, and I had all the opportunity in the world today to do it.”

“I didn’t get it done.”

“I just wasn’t able to get any kind of roll early, I had my chances to get it going. I just never did.”

 

Leave a Reply

