D+D REAL Czech Masters. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the  D+D REAL Czech Masters Matt Fitzpatrick and Pelle Edberg are flying high at  Albatross Golf Resort in Prague.

 D+D REAL Czech Masters   D+D REAL Czech Masters

Matt Fitzpatrick and Pelle Edberg / Getty Images

England’s Matt completed a flawless first 36 holes to share the halfway lead at -11 under par, with Sweden’s Pelle Edberg, with both players carding second rounds of -5 under par 67.

Matt, the former US Amateur Champion, said he had played well today, apart from missing a few putts;

 “It was very consistent today, I played nicely and hit a lot of greens again which is always important to keep making pars and then take your chances when you have them.” 

“I gave myself a few out there. I got a bit frustrated in the middle of the round when I wasn’t holing any putts; I missed a few chances but picked it up on the back nine.” 

“The putt on the 18th was a nice way to finish with a birdie, to pick up one more and move to the top.”  

“I’m looking forward to the weekend now, it’s another chance to put myself in contention for Sunday.” 

“I took a lot from contending in Crans. It was a great week for me. I don’t really know how to explain it but I gained a lot of experience from playing with Danny [Willett].

“He is top 30 in the world, so obviously one of the best players around. I spoke to Chubby [Chandler] the night before and he said don’t get too ahead of yourself, just take one shot at a time.” 

“I’ve played a lot of events this year and I feel like I have learned a lot already. It’s my dream to play professional golf.” 

“I don’t think I’ve realised yet how big an achievement it is to keep my card. It would be great to get to The Race to Dubai final having come from Q-School.”

“I want to keep growing as a player and my goals are always changing. It feels like time is going so fast this year.”

Pelle was happy to have had another good day with the putter;

“Like yesterday I putted really well, I holed a lot of putts and it was good off the tee and had some nice irons, so it added up to a good score.”

“I couldn’t be in a better position. I’m feeling pretty good and feeling comfortable about most parts of my game.” 

“I feel confident so I want to see how well I can do this week.”

Thorbjørn Olesen, from Denmark, had missed nine cuts in ten events coming into this week, he shot a -3 under 69 to be tied for fourth place at -8 under par, with the English pair of Sam Hutsby and Robert Dinwiddie.

Leave a Reply

