Helsingborg Open. Nicole in Place for a Wire to Wire Win

White Dragon Golf

Nicole Broch Larsen is in firmly in place for a wire to wire win at the Helsingborg Open on the  Vasatorps Golf Club course in Sweden.

Helsingborg Open

Nicole Broch Larsen / Getty Images

Nicole, from Denmark, shot a solid third round of -5 under par 68 in heavy rain, in the third round of the Helsingborg Open. She posted a -14 under par 54 hole total, and will take a four shot lead into the final round of her quest for a wire to wire win. A win here would book her place in next week’s Evian Championship in France, which is the final Major of the year.

Nicole is only lady in the tournament to have shot three rounds in the 60s, the best moment today came on the par five 16th, where she hit driver, and then a 3-wood, leaving a nine foot putt for eagle, which she duly rolled in;

“Today I could putt on three of the par fives so it was nice to hit it long and reach the par fives.”

“It’s really nice that I kept it going and I’m in the lead so tomorrow is going to be exciting. I don’t know what I have to shoot but I’ll make a number and go for it,”

“I played very well today and make few mistakes and when I did I fought back.”

Ashleigh Simon, from South Africa, is still in second place, but now four shots back of the leader, a -2 under par 71 could not help her to keep the pressure on, poor putting was the reason for her lack of progress;

“I hit it good today and didn’t hole as many putts as yesterday but that’s kind of what happens when you have nine birdies in a round.”

“I’m still happy with the way I played. I didn’t hit it too good the last three holes but I’m only four behind and Nicole played great so it was good to feed off each other.”

“We don’t know what the weather’s going to do tomorrow. Nicole’s had three really good rounds and she’s playing really consistent so I’m going to need a good low one to try and beat her.”

Third place belongs to Malene Jorgensen, another lady from Denmark, she had a -4 under par 69 to give her a -8 under par tournament total.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

