M2M Russian Open. Lee Leaps Into Lead.

White Dragon GolfImage result for russian open 2015 logo

Lee Slattery leaps into the lead at the M2M Russian Open after 54 rain affected holes at  Skolkovo Golf Club in Moscow.

M2M Russian Open

Lee Slattery / Getty Images

Lee had a -4 under par 67 in the rain delayed third round at the M2M Russian Open, giving him a -13 under par total, and a two shot lead heading into the final round tomorrow.

Lee is one of only three players who have shot three rounds in the 60’s in this tournament, and another one tomorrow should see him lift the trophy;

“It’s very similar to my last win actually, I had a two shot lead there on the final day.”

“I remember losing the lead quite early but it pushed me on to play well again so it’s similar, similar feelings, and I’m just going to go out and enjoy it tomorrow.”

“It’s the old cliché, take it one shot at a time, that’s what I’ll be doing tomorrow and I’m looking forward to it.”

“I hit a really nice drive at 18, one of the best of the day, and then a three iron rescue which has been carrying all week.”

“It’s been a great club for me this week, especially on a lot of the par threes that play long. It was a nice way to finish the round off.”

Argentinian Estanislao Goya and Scotsman Craig Lee share second place, two shots back at  -11 under par for the competition.

Estanislao had a bogey free -4 under par 67, and was pretty happy with that;

“I’m very pleased, it’s a bogey free round again so I’m very happy about that.”

“It was tougher definitely, it was wet and played longer. The wind changed a little bit at times and the ball wasn’t flying as much.”

“I have a chance for tomorrow too so I’ll make the most of it. It’s the place I want to be, in the last group, to try to put some pressure on and hopefully I can have a good tournament.”

Craig said he got lucky with the draw, the delay did not affect him at all;

“I’m delighted with five under. I certainly would have taken it before we went out.” 

“Obviously the weather has been tough for the morning groups and we got the lucky end of the draw.”

“I had left my hotel when play had been suspended so I didn’t have to warm up in the rain but it’s been very testing.” 

David Horsey is in fourth place, and did what he was supposed to do on a Saturday, move up the leaderboard;

“Saturday is moving day so it is always nice to make a move up the leaderboard.” 

“I played nicely out there and I’m very pleased with my position going into the final day.”

“The delay was actually a bit of a blessing because it was hammering it down beforehand so that extra hour and a half helped me out a little bit and we hardly had any rain this afternoon.” 

“I’m playing nicely at the moment so I just have to stick to my game plan again tomorrow and see where I am coming down the stretch.”

Yesterdays leader Bradley Dredge dropped down the leaderboard, a +1 round of 72 was not what he wanted, now T5 at -9 under.

 

Leave a Reply

