M2M Russian Open. Lee Slattery Wins

White Dragon GolfImage result for russian open 2015 logo

Lee Slattery wins the M2M Russian Open at Skolkovo Golf Club in Moscow.

M2M Russian Open

Lee Slattery / Getty Images

Lee won the M2M Russian Open, this was his second European Tour title. A final round -2 under par 69 giving him a tournament total of -15 under par. Lee carded all four rounds in the 60’s, and with pressure coming from behind chipped in for an important birdie at the 17th;

“To chip one in at such an important time meant so much and it shows that practice pays off eventually.”

 “It’s funny, the thing that has been letting me down most has probably been my short game in the last few months, so I’ve worked so hard at that.”

 “It has been a difficult year.

“It’s just nice to be able to finish the year off like this, with a win, knowing that I can plan next year now and hopefully get myself going again to where I belong, I feel.”

“Holing the long putt at 14 was crucial. I know that Tano (Estanislao Goya) bogeyed 13 and the other two guys hit good shots into the next and I thought, ‘if I can hole my putt on top of these two here, I’ll have a chance’, and I managed to do that and I just pushed on really. That chip in was massive.”

“It’s always nice to know you can hole a three-foot putt on the last to win a tournament, so that meant a lot.”

Estanislao Goya, from Argentina, finished in second place, just one shot off the pace at -14 under par. He birdied the last two holes to really keep the pressure on the Englishman;

“I played great the last three or four days.”

“After how I have started the year, this tournament gave me a real taste of it again and even though I was leading and I finished second, Lee played great and finished great to chip in at 17.”

“I did the best I could. I think I played great and he beat me by one. I’m pretty happy anyway.”

Defending champion David Horsey finished  a stroke further back on -13 under par, saying he just needed to hole some more putts and he would have been there again;

“It’s always nice to come back and do well, and put in another good performance.”

“It’s nice to be back in contention more consistently, so hopefully I can continue this for the rest of the season.”

“If I had holed a few more putts this week, it might have been a different story but sometimes you have those sort of weeks and you’ve just got to take the positives and move on.”

 

Leave a Reply

