KLM Open. Rafael Cabrera-Bello and Lee Slattery Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Rafael Cabrera-Bello and Lee Slattery have the 54 hole lead at the KLM Open in Holland.

KLM Open KLM Open

Rafael Cabrera-Bello and Lee Slattery / Getty Images

Rafa and Lee both carded third rounds of -7 under par 63, to lead the KLM Open at Kennemer Golf & Country Club with -16 under par totals.

Rafa had a day of tap in birdies, in a mixed bag he also recorded a bogey;

“I sunk a very long putt on the first hole and after that all the other birdies were pretty much tap-ins.” 

“Even the bogey I had was a three-putt from five feet, so it could’ve been better, but I’m really pleased that everything went my way.”

“It was a bonus to hole my third shot for eagle on the seventh. I just threw my club up in the air because I didn’t know how to celebrate! I wasn’t expecting that.”

“It wasn’t frustrating making nine pars in a row. The only hole I felt I gave a shot away was the 12th.

“I hit a perfect drive in the middle of the fairway and had a six iron into the green but made a really poor shot. It’s a par five so I was expecting to make birdie there.”

“The rest of the holes I played well but the putts didn’t drop. It could’ve been one or two better but I’ll take 63.”

“It’s very exciting for tomorrow and it looks like I’ll be in the last group with Lee. Being in the final group on the last day is always an honor and very exciting.”

“I’ve felt this year I’ve been in this position more often than ever before in my career. It’s not always worked out, but I’m learning from my mistakes and working on them.”

“The more I put myself in that position the more comfortable I’ll be and the better I’ll play, simple!”

Lee, last week’s M2M Russian Open champion, also had a bogey on the day, but was very happy with his position, and a bit of luck coming his way;

“It’s like a dream come true at the minute. I went into last week with a lot of pressure on and won, and then I’ve come here with no pressure whatsoever and just been trying to play good golf.” 

“It’s a fabulous feeling and I feel a lot more relaxed this week than I was last week.”

“My first win in 2011 took a lot out of me because it was after years and years and years of hard work, and it was a lifetime ambition to win a European Tour event.”

“That was a special moment for me, but last week meant a lot to several other people as well, so that made it more special in some ways. It’s just been a lot of hard work and it’s finally paying off.”

“A lot of things went my way today. At 12 it looked like it was going to stay at the back of the green, which would have been a really difficult putt, but it rolled back down to about 15 feet and I managed to knock it in for eagle.”

“You need bits of luck when you do well in tournaments, so I’ll take them.”
Paul Lawrie is in third position, just one shot back at -15 under par, he had a bogey free -7 under par 63.

The leaderboard is very compacted, with five players within three shots of the lead, so it is really all up for grabs tomorrow, a great low round will win it.

Leave a Reply

