The Evian Championship. Mi Hyang Lee Still Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Mi Hyang Lee still leads The Evian Championship after 54 holes at the Evian Resort Golf Course in France, and is seeking a wire to wire win.

The Evian Championship

Mi Hyang Lee before the rain

Mi Hyang shot a third round -1 under par 70, but remained at the top of the Evian Championship leaderboard by just one shot at -10 under par.

Mi Hyang,  who won last year’s New Zealand Open and Mizuno Classic in Japan, thinks she needs to focus more, and wants to win. A poor start to today with two bogey’s;

“I want to win at the major tournaments, so I think I need more concentration maybe.

“I didn’t worry, no, just first two holes. I have another 16 holes today, so that’s fine.”

The Evian Championship

Mi Hyang Lee after the rain

Lexi Thompson is in second place, at -9 under par for the tournament, a third round -5 under par 66 getting her firmly in contention;

The Evian Championship

Lexi Thompson

Lexi improved her putting today, and that made the difference;

“I just kind of figured out a little something with my putting that worked and that helped me out today.”

“I didn’t hit it that great off the tee today. I hit it a lot better off the tee yesterday, but I just got more putts today.”

The Evian ChampionshipLydia Ko, -4 under 68 today, and The Evian ChampionshipMorgan Pressel, who had an even par round of 70, share third place, both on -8 under par.

Morgan made a mistake on the very wet 18th, where she carded a double bogey, and she also putted poorly all day;

“It was stupid now, but I felt in that moment that I could hit the shot and I’m still two back going into tomorrow.”

“I can’t dwell on it too much. I think maybe in my earlier years on tour it would have affected me more.”

“I hit it great today, some of the best ball-striking I’ve had in a long time. I can’t tell you the number of 10-footers that I missed.”

Sunday will be Lydia’s last chance to upstage Morgan as youngest player to win an LPGA major, but she knows it won’t be easy;

“Winning a major at any age is pretty hard.”

 

Leave a Reply

