The Evian Championship. Lydia Becomes Youngest Ever LPGA Major Winner.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko becomes the youngest ever LPGA Major winner, lifting The Evian Championship trophy in France.

Evian Championship

Lydia Ko and the coveted Trophy / Getty Images 

A fabulous last round -8 under par 63, saw Lydia lift The Evian Championship title with a -16 under par total, a six shot lead over her nearest rival.

Lydia spoke about that feeling of having an enormous lead, coming down the last;

“Any tournament it’s hard to come down the 18th with a five-shot lead, and to do it in a major, it’s an even better feeling.”

“You know, I didn’t know I’d make the putt, so I said to Lexi, I’ll just go anyway, and it ended up dropping.”

“Lucky I didn’t have like a three-footer for par. Yeah, you know, it was just such an amazing feeling walking across the bridge and saying thank you to all the fans that came out.”

” I didn’t totally cry-cry. But I kind of got a little overwhelmed, and I could kind of feel tears coming when Jason said, enjoy the moment, coming down onto the green.”

“I kind of felt back over the whole week and all the questions I’ve been asked. But in a way I was relieved. But to kind of have that putt go in, I think just everything dropped.”

“I didn’t really know what was going to happen. I mean, it was so amazing, and just, I think, all feelings kind of went into me.”

“To say that I’m the youngest in history for now, it’s so cool. But the big thing for me is I won’t be asked that question, and it’s amazing that I can leave my name I guess a little bit in the history books.”

Lexi Thompson was in second place, a distant -10 under par total, final round -1 under par 70 her undoing.

Shanshan Feng took third position with her -9 under par total.

The day belonged to Lydia, and congratulations to her from all her fans in New Zealand.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

