BMW Championship. Jason Beats the Living Daylights Out Of the Course.

White Dragon GolfBMW Championship

Jason Day beat the living daylights out of the Conway Farms Golf Club course in the 1st round of the BMW Championship. He was -10 under par after 17 holes before a huge impending storm brought play to a halt in Chicago.

BMW Championship

Jason Day / Getty Images

In his -10 under round so far, Jason has averaged 334.6 yards, thanks to his new driver, a  TaylorMade M1, which he put in his golf bag earlier this week. Jason said it has helped him hit it even further thanks to a lower descending angle and less spin. The chance of recording a 59 is there, but he will need to pitch it in for Eagle tomorrow morning;

“I’m walking through the locker room and people are going, ‘You’re playing off the ladies’ tees, or you’re playing a different golf course, or every time you hit a drive, it’s downwind for you.”

 “I’d like to say all those things are true, but they’re not.”

“Jordan told me that it was par-71 on nine. I probably should have known that because there’s three par-5s, but I wasn’t paying attention.’

“I didn’t think I’d have an opportunity of shooting 59. He was keeping count for me.” 

“As we’re walking up after the horn blew, Jordan said that I was going to hole out, and I said back to him, now I’m not going to do it because you said that.”

 “Obviously I want to hole it. I wasn’t really thinking about shooting 59. I obviously have an opportunity tomorrow to do it, so that’s pretty neat.”

“It’s going to be fun. These next few days are going to be exciting.”

 

Daniel Berger has completed his first round and sits in second place at -6 under par after his opening round of 65.

There are currently four players tied in third position at -5 under par; Brendon Todd who has finished his first round 66, Jordan Spieth, on 17, Kevin Chappell  on 16 and Justin Thomas, who has five holes left to play.

Jordan spoke about the clinic that Jason has provided;

“I don’t even think he knows I’m here.”

“It’s like I’m a paid amateur just watching him. He’s putting on a clinic.”

Daniel spoke about his decline in form, and trying to be rookie of the year;

 “Putting too much pressure on myself to be rookie of the year, to win, to have all these accomplishments when what I did to get to where I was, was not to care about any of that stuff.”

“I want to be in that top 30 so I can play four majors next year, and it sets my year up for weeks to come.”

“Like I said, I’ve had a great year regardless of what happens, and I’m just going to do what I can control, and if it happens, it happens.”

Jim Furyk has had to withdraw from the competition, after playing only six holes. starting on the back nine. Jim was suffering with a bad left wrist, and this is his first WD since the 1995 version of this event when it was still the Western Open.  In 2013, he shot the PGA Tour’s sixth-ever round of 59, here at Conway Farms Golf Club, and this is only the second time in his career that Jim has been forced to WD.

Leave a Reply

